My First Build Please Help .. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-24-2007, 01:02 AM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: My First Build Please Help ..

So your new motherboard is ATX and your current one is micro atx (matx) ? Are you re-using your case? I don't know if that'll cause a problem. it might unless your buying an ATX case. or if your current case supports ATX and mATX.
__________________

__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 01:05 AM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
kurtowns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia,Nsw
Posts: 129
Default Re: My First Build Please Help ..

ahh i think the (( M )) just stands for micro , so it should all line up FINGERS CROSSED
__________________

__________________
Cpu:Q6600 GO @ 3.4ghz 1.36V
Gfx:8800 Gts 640Mbs
HD:500 gb SATA2 16mb
OS:Windows Xp 32Bit
Ram:2gb ddr2 Corsair
Monitor:ViewSonic Vg2030wm 20inch Wide Screen
MotherBoard:Abit Ip35 Pro !! - AWESOME
Fan:Zalman 9700
kurtowns is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 01:07 AM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
kurtowns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia,Nsw
Posts: 129
Default Re: My First Build Please Help ..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akubane View Post
So your new motherboard is ATX and your current one is micro atx (matx) ? Are you re-using your case? I don't know if that'll cause a problem. it might unless your buying an ATX case. or if your current case supports ATX and mATX.
o didnt see your reply , yes im going to remove this motherboard from this case ansd put the new motherboard in this case are you saying im going to have problems
__________________
Cpu:Q6600 GO @ 3.4ghz 1.36V
Gfx:8800 Gts 640Mbs
HD:500 gb SATA2 16mb
OS:Windows Xp 32Bit
Ram:2gb ddr2 Corsair
Monitor:ViewSonic Vg2030wm 20inch Wide Screen
MotherBoard:Abit Ip35 Pro !! - AWESOME
Fan:Zalman 9700
kurtowns is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 01:20 AM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
kurtowns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia,Nsw
Posts: 129
Default Re: My First Build Please Help ..

i'll just have to hope that there is enuff holes for me to change the stand offs around to fit the board ,
__________________
Cpu:Q6600 GO @ 3.4ghz 1.36V
Gfx:8800 Gts 640Mbs
HD:500 gb SATA2 16mb
OS:Windows Xp 32Bit
Ram:2gb ddr2 Corsair
Monitor:ViewSonic Vg2030wm 20inch Wide Screen
MotherBoard:Abit Ip35 Pro !! - AWESOME
Fan:Zalman 9700
kurtowns is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 01:38 AM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: My First Build Please Help ..

I'm not saying you Will have problems, i'm saying you might ^^ your case/motherboard tray might be compatible with regular ATX boards anyway, allowing you to move around the stand-offs like you said. Just have to wait and see ^^
__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 05:20 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
kurtowns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia,Nsw
Posts: 129
Default Re: My First Build Please Help ..

I might get this case STORM DRAGON MID-ATX GAMER CASE +LCD +NEW - NO PSU - eBay Full Tower, Computer Cases, Components, Upgrades, Computers. (end time 26-Nov-07 20:18:28 AEDST)

but im not sure if it fits atx boards ? could someone tell me thanks !!
__________________
Cpu:Q6600 GO @ 3.4ghz 1.36V
Gfx:8800 Gts 640Mbs
HD:500 gb SATA2 16mb
OS:Windows Xp 32Bit
Ram:2gb ddr2 Corsair
Monitor:ViewSonic Vg2030wm 20inch Wide Screen
MotherBoard:Abit Ip35 Pro !! - AWESOME
Fan:Zalman 9700
kurtowns is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 05:25 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
ShaolinDreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 457
Default Re: My First Build Please Help ..

is says ATX.. so it should m8.
__________________
Gaming Rig
Intel Core 2 E6600 @ 3Ghz -Upgrade- Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro 25C/35C
Asus P5N-D Nforce 750i 1333FSB
Crucial Ballistix 2x1GB DDR2 800MHz -Upgrade- Crucial Ballistix Tracer RED 2x2GB 800Mhz
2x SataII, 2x IDE Total = 1.1Tb
EVGA 8800GTS 512mb 'Crysis Edition' @ 750/1900/2000
Onboard Realtek 8.1 Sound Jazzy!
Hiper Type-R 580w -Upgrade- Gigabyte ODIN GT 800W
Modded iCute -Upgrade- Antec 900
19" Iiyama CRT -NEXT Upgrade!- Samsung SM-T260HD 26" w/ Digital TV Tuner / Samsung SM-T240 24"

3DMark06 Score- 13k :)
ShaolinDreams is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 05:26 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
kurtowns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia,Nsw
Posts: 129
Default Re: My First Build Please Help ..

yes it does but im not sure if its only mid atx or fits with atx
__________________
Cpu:Q6600 GO @ 3.4ghz 1.36V
Gfx:8800 Gts 640Mbs
HD:500 gb SATA2 16mb
OS:Windows Xp 32Bit
Ram:2gb ddr2 Corsair
Monitor:ViewSonic Vg2030wm 20inch Wide Screen
MotherBoard:Abit Ip35 Pro !! - AWESOME
Fan:Zalman 9700
kurtowns is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 05:29 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
ShaolinDreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 457
Default Re: My First Build Please Help ..

its a mid tower that fits ATX

mATX stands for microATX
__________________
Gaming Rig
Intel Core 2 E6600 @ 3Ghz -Upgrade- Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro 25C/35C
Asus P5N-D Nforce 750i 1333FSB
Crucial Ballistix 2x1GB DDR2 800MHz -Upgrade- Crucial Ballistix Tracer RED 2x2GB 800Mhz
2x SataII, 2x IDE Total = 1.1Tb
EVGA 8800GTS 512mb 'Crysis Edition' @ 750/1900/2000
Onboard Realtek 8.1 Sound Jazzy!
Hiper Type-R 580w -Upgrade- Gigabyte ODIN GT 800W
Modded iCute -Upgrade- Antec 900
19" Iiyama CRT -NEXT Upgrade!- Samsung SM-T260HD 26" w/ Digital TV Tuner / Samsung SM-T240 24"

3DMark06 Score- 13k :)
ShaolinDreams is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 05:32 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
kurtowns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia,Nsw
Posts: 129
Default Re: My First Build Please Help ..

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShaolinDreams View Post
its a mid tower that fits ATX

mATX stands for microATX
ok well it will be either that case or this case

Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570 Case
__________________

__________________
Cpu:Q6600 GO @ 3.4ghz 1.36V
Gfx:8800 Gts 640Mbs
HD:500 gb SATA2 16mb
OS:Windows Xp 32Bit
Ram:2gb ddr2 Corsair
Monitor:ViewSonic Vg2030wm 20inch Wide Screen
MotherBoard:Abit Ip35 Pro !! - AWESOME
Fan:Zalman 9700
kurtowns is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First build, suggestions asim8787 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 12-10-2007 07:13 AM
semi-final build plan (with some issues) plz giv input Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 14 10-15-2007 10:03 PM
Domain Controller and SQL server Build abadjay New Systems | Building and Buying 2 10-05-2007 08:39 AM
A newb story: Buying is done...time to build jfenwick New Systems | Building and Buying 83 08-17-2007 12:42 PM
Computer Building Tutorials (videos)... first build OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 5 07-15-2007 12:18 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.