My First Build! Checkover my list plz! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-12-2007, 01:27 PM   #11 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,799
Default Re: My First Build! Checkover my list plz!

of course you can set up your HDD and optical drive on the same IDE channel

when it says 20+4 it means 24. The PSU can be plugged into an older 20 pin motherboard but also has an additional 4 pin mobo connector that fits onto the side of the 20 pin part - that was a rubbish explanation. oh well in answer to the question, yes

on a side note; when did biostar become good?


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 04-12-2007, 02:26 PM   #12 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
Nagasama's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: My First Build! Checkover my list plz!

i dont know...
i think they have always been decent for the money.
as far as the t550 is concerned, that is one of the best overclocking boards for an am2 rig. hopefully hte evga 590 board i just ordered is even better. although it does cost a little more.
t550 is definitely the best for 80 bucks, or however much it is.
i think they just have winner with it.

"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 04-13-2007, 12:07 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
spikoman69's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 726
Default Re: My First Build! Checkover my list plz!

So, i setup my harddrive as master, and optical as slave?
spikoman69 is offline  
Old 04-13-2007, 12:30 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 692
Default Re: My First Build! Checkover my list plz!

Optical drive and HDD can be on the same IDE channel. Just set one as master and one as slave.

T550 is the way to go but SATA/II won't work when you OC because SATA/II can only run at 220mhz. you can use SATA3/4 because they are usually locked unlike SATA/II
or if you are using SATA pci, you can lock the PCI speed.

please correct me if im wrong.
System Specs
Opteron 165 cooled by Zalman 9500A LED // DFI Lanparty UT NF4-D // Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 320-GB Hard Drive // Sapphire X1950XT 256MB cooled by Zalman VF900 Cu LED // 2x1GB OCZ EL Plantinum // Enermax NoiseTaker 430W // Pioneer DVD & Combo Optical Drive // 20" Samsung 206BW Monitor // Logitech Z-2300 Speakers // Logitech G11 Keyboard and Microsoft Sidewinder mouse // Antec Nine Hundred Case
krazieaznboi is offline  
Old 04-13-2007, 01:13 AM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default Re: My First Build! Checkover my list plz!

Originally Posted by spikoman69 View Post
So, i setup my harddrive as master, and optical as slave?
yeah you can do that. no worries there. i second the biostar 550..and that cpu cooler is not to bad it keeps my 3600+ @ stock roughly 22-25C idle which is not too bad.

My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware |
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Old 04-13-2007, 03:05 PM   #16 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: My First Build! Checkover my list plz!

The Alpine64 is a nice little cooler for only 10 bucks. It's better than the stock HSF and will handle OC's on an X2 3600 up to around 2.5-2.8.

Yes get the Tforce550 as you can set slave and master as they have said which you wouldn't have any need for another FDD connector.

In response to KMOTE about little Biostar Tforce 965Pt for $105 bucks has my E6300 running @ 3.22ghz.

Biostar don't make the "best" boards but they sure do make some nice budget overclockers.

E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New build advice needed sguffee New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-12-2007 10:48 PM
Build Questions: veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 04-07-2007 05:13 PM
Ideal parts for a build? RisingFalls New Systems | Building and Buying 1 04-06-2007 09:27 PM
New Build montdj New Systems | Building and Buying 21 03-28-2007 07:51 PM
global address list benzimm86 Microsoft Windows and Software 0 03-27-2007 12:41 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:53 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.