My first build

Status
Not open for further replies.

ROFL_A_PIGGY

In Runtime
This is my first build and these are the parts I have found. I will be playing games with graphics like Age of Conan and FPS as well. Feedback on anything I should change/add is greatly appreciated.

EDIT: I'm building an i7 now instead of an e8400

My budget is around $900-1100

GPU (Ok I've chosen to downgrade to gtx 260 SC): GeForce Gtx 260 Superclocked (900mb memory, 448 bit interface) --$175
CPU: Intel Core i7 Quad Core --$280
Case: Thermaltake Armor Series (full tower) --$150
PSU: Corsair 750w 700w --$100
Mobo: ASUS P6T LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard (Memory Standard: DDR3 1333, 2000 OC) --$250
HDD: Western Digital 1TB --$100
RAM: OCZ Gold 6gb (3 2gb) --$80
DVD Drive: LG Black/DVD burner --$25
Keyboard: GIGABYTE standard keyboard --$15
Mouse: Logitech G5 Laser Mouse (already have it)
Monitor: 19" Dell /37" Vizio FHDTV (1080p) (already have it)
Thermal Compound: Arctic Silver 5 Thermal Compound --$7

Total (with rebate, not including shipping): $1167 what do you think? :happy:

Edit: holding off on the water cooling system till I can afford it.

If you are going to go for water cooling do not get a cheap one.
Either spend the $300 and do it right or spend $50 on a good heatsink and fan.

All good choices. And you don't buy a 'cheap' watercooling system ;) Get something like the Scythe Ninja 2 (I have one, it's great) if you plan on OCing.

One thing though, for RAM you put a dvd burner for which the link is broken anyway :p

All good choices. And you don't buy a 'cheap' watercooling system ;) Get something like the Scythe Ninja 2 (I have one, it's great) if you plan on OCing.

One thing though, for RAM you put a dvd burner for which the link is broken anyway :p

Fixed the link, thanks.