my first Build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-05-2008, 02:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
MangoSalsa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 62
Send a message via AIM to MangoSalsa Send a message via MSN to MangoSalsa
Default my first Build

GAMING COMPUTER UPDATED AS OF FEB 16, 2008
Ram A-DATA 4GB(2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model ADQVE1B16K - Retail $100
Case Sunbeam Transformer IC-TR-BA Black Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case - Retail Don’t go Cheap $75

Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0GHz 6MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor – Retail $200

Video Card EVGA 768-P2-N831-AR GeForce 8800GTX 768MB 384-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail $410

Hard Drive Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3320620AS (Perpendicular Recording Technology) 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM x2 $170
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream OCZ700GXSSLI ATX12V 700W Power Supply - Retail $135
Motherboard EVGA 132-CK-NF78-A1 LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 780i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail $250
Sound Card Integrated

Heat sink/Fan ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler - Retail
$30
OS Microsoft Windows XP Professional With SP2C - OEM
$140

Additional Cooling:

HDD COOLING ----MASSCOOL SYTRIN Kuformula SHF1 Ultra HDD Cooler – BK – Retail X2
$50
VGA COOLING ---- ZALMAN VF900 – CU 2 Ball VGA Cooler - Retail
$31

...............................................

The products in red are the ones im not sure about. Im going to go for another case, but my question is mainly concerning the VGA card. I was wondering, the card I have posted is 1st gen, could I install 2 512mb cards on the mobo? and if so, does that the load would be distributed between the 2 cards, or would they act as 1? Any advice/guidance would be appreciated, thanks.
__________________

MangoSalsa is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 02:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: my first Build

Better power supply:
Newegg.com - SILVERSTONE SST-ST56ZF ATX12V / EPS12V 560W Power Supply 90V ~ 264V (Auto Range) - Retail
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 02:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: my first Build

That Zalman VF900 is not compatible with the GeForce 8 series. If you want VGA cooling, I would suggest the Thermalright HR-03 Plus, if you're after the GTX.

For the price of a GTX, and you get two 9600GTs in SLI. But only if you're going to be playing games on a resolution higher than 1680 x 1050. If not, I would just suggest an 8800GTS 512 (G92). For VGA cooling of the GTS 512, I would recommend the Thermalright HR-03 GT.

For less than those two 7200.10 hard drives, you can get Seagate's newer 7200.11 series. A 750GB only cost around $160. If you're into RAIDing them, I would suggest two 7200.11 500GBs.

Power supply is too much for your system. Any of the following can power that system easily:
Modular
Corsair 520HX[N] or 620HX[N]
Thermaltake Toughpower 650W[N]

Non-Modular
Corsair 550VX[N]
SeaSonic S12 550W[N]
Antec Tru Power Trio 650W[N]
FSP Group FX600-GLN V2.2/EPS12V 600W[N]
Silverstone SST-ST56ZF 560W[N]
PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W[N]
Corsair 650TX[N]

You really do not need an HDD cooler, because hard drives will actually last longer, when they run a little warm. And the case's cooling should take care of that.

You can get a 2 x 2GB kit of G. Skill for cheaper than those A-DATAs, and they probably overclock better:
Newegg.com - G.SKILL 4GB(2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail

If you want Windows to recognize all of the 4GB of RAM, make sure it is a 64bit version.



Welcome to Tech Forums, MangoSalsa!!!
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 02:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 466
Default Re: my first Build

also dont get 4gb of crap ram... get 2 gb of quality ram
__________________


Thermaltake Armor
680i LT
q6600 (g0 revision)
736 mb EVGA 8800 GTX
2 gb crucial tracers
500 gb seagate 7200.11
TRUE 120
PC Power & Cooling 610
and a run of the mill DVD drive
heister is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 03:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: my first Build

2gb crucial 4-4-4-12
1x8800gts 512 g92
drop the psu and get a 520hx
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 08:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
MangoSalsa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 62
Send a message via AIM to MangoSalsa Send a message via MSN to MangoSalsa
Default Re: my first Build

Thanks for the fast input everyone, im still a little cloudy on the SDRam terms. What is the significance of DDR2 #'s and PC2 #'s?

Also, I do want to SLI, and the monitor I have picked out is Hanns∑G HW-223DPB for $240....is this alright?

Also, I need more guidance when it comes to WHICH cards to SLI...thanks again!!
MangoSalsa is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 08:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 466
Default Re: my first Build

you dont need sli for that... just a good 8800
__________________


Thermaltake Armor
680i LT
q6600 (g0 revision)
736 mb EVGA 8800 GTX
2 gb crucial tracers
500 gb seagate 7200.11
TRUE 120
PC Power & Cooling 610
and a run of the mill DVD drive
heister is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 08:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: my first Build

after ddr2 say 800mhz its bassically the speed, the higher the better but u have to watch that it doesn't up the latencies.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 08:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
MangoSalsa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 62
Send a message via AIM to MangoSalsa Send a message via MSN to MangoSalsa
Default Re: my first Build

Well, my main goal is to be able to run any computer game I buy on its highest graphics setting...or I at least want to not have to worry if I have enough memory or not to get the most out of certain games.

For this reason, is 1 card still optimal, or 2?
MangoSalsa is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 09:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 466
Default Re: my first Build

LOL well your monitor can only support 1680 by 1050... which is pretty hight but no where near the sphere of sli requirements... i would go with a EVGA 8800GTX and then do the step up program when the 9800 lines come out and you will be set for a good long time... you might even get pretty decent fps in crysis with that
__________________

__________________


Thermaltake Armor
680i LT
q6600 (g0 revision)
736 mb EVGA 8800 GTX
2 gb crucial tracers
500 gb seagate 7200.11
TRUE 120
PC Power & Cooling 610
and a run of the mill DVD drive
heister is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help me build system on Q6600? yexusbeliever New Systems | Building and Buying 5 01-26-2008 12:34 AM
Domain Controller and SQL server Build abadjay New Systems | Building and Buying 2 10-05-2007 08:39 AM
Critique (and help with) My Build! aetherh4cker New Systems | Building and Buying 3 09-19-2007 03:34 PM
A newb story: Buying is done...time to build jfenwick New Systems | Building and Buying 83 08-17-2007 12:42 PM
Computer Building Tutorials (videos)... first build OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 5 07-15-2007 12:18 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.