My First Build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-04-2007, 11:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default My First Build

Hello I wish to build a PC to play top of the range games and to play top of the range games for the forseeable future. Can you tell me plz if all of these components are compatible.

CPU
http://www.microdirect.com/productin...roductID=14431
RAM
http://www.microdirect.co.uk/Product...79&GroupID=465
Graphics
http://www.microdirect.co.uk/Product...139&GroupID=27
HD
http://www.microdirect.co.uk/Product...3606&GroupID=3
Motherboard + Soundcard
http://www.microdirect.co.uk/Product...4663&GroupID=4
OR
http://www.microdirect.co.uk/Product...497&GroupID=4?
Monitor
http://www.microdirect.co.uk/Product...5&GroupID=1170
Keyboard/Mouse
http://www.microdirect.co.uk/Product...283&GroupID=20
DVD/CD Drive
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/offer-lis...875388-0279143


Can you also tell me plz what Wattage PSU i need to power this if it is all compatible thank you., and if am missing anything.
__________________

Vaanish is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 11:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

How much money do you have to build a pc? Do you need everything like mouse, keyboard, box, speakers, and monitor? Also, do you live in the US?
__________________

__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 11:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

450 Watt Fotron Will be plenty.
Ste is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 11:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default

I have about £700 and i live in UK, and i need all of it except speakers.
Vaanish is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 11:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

If you can't find fortron on that website.
http://www.microdirect.co.uk/Product...1447&GroupID=0
Ste is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 12:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default

http://www.xcase.co.uk/p/291000/raid...-watt-psu.html

is that ok or would you reccomend that i buy case and PSU seperately
Vaanish is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 12:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

CPU
http://www.microdirect.co.uk/Product...6265&GroupID=0

Motherboard + Soundcard
http://www.microdirect.co.uk/Product...4660&GroupID=0

Monitor
http://www.microdirect.co.uk/Product...4&GroupID=1172

Keyboard/Mouse
http://www.microdirect.co.uk/Product...98&GroupID=365
http://www.microdirect.co.uk/Product...3&GroupID=1212

DVD/CD Drive
http://www.microdirect.co.uk/Product...374&GroupID=42

Case/Psu
http://www.microdirect.co.uk/Product...80&GroupID=509
http://www.microdirect.co.uk/Product...8&GroupID=1401

What I put is just changes/add-ons to what you had. It should be a good pc overall and even better if you overclock.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 12:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

It's like £5 or £10 after adding it up and shipping probably. If you buy what I put up should turn out to be a pretty good build with overclocking and upgrading in mind.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 12:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Vaanish
http://www.xcase.co.uk/p/291000/raid...-watt-psu.html

is that ok or would you reccomend that i buy case and PSU seperately
Separate PSU.

Theres a 430 Watt Antec on the website too. Same version just.
Ste is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 12:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default

Thank you but can i ask you pepsiboy why you told me to buy this, which has 2 1.8GHz processors

http://www.microdirect.co.uk/Product...6265&GroupID=0

if it is more expensive that this

http://www.microdirect.com/productin...roductID=14431

which has 2 3.4GHz processors

Thank You
__________________

Vaanish is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.