My final list - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-04-2009, 12:28 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: My final list

Quote:
Agreed, single rail is better than 4 rails
In most cases yes, but not always... in this case it is.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 12:34 PM   #12 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: My final list

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke View Post
In most cases yes, but not always... in this case it is.
When is 4 rails better than one? Load balancing sucks, why spend the time on it? Its not a reliability thing, if one rail goes the whole psu goes. I can't think of any advantages except for price that multi rail psu's have.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 12:37 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: My final list

Quote:
When is 4 rails better than one? Load balancing sucks, why spend the time on it? Its not a reliability thing, if one rail goes the whole psu goes. I can't think of any advantages except for price that multi rail psu's have.
when using a lot of perhepreals (sorry i can't spell it and im at school with no spell check) it helps....i agree it is not worth it, but it does.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 12:41 PM   #14 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: My final list

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke View Post
when using a lot of perhepreals (sorry i can't spell it and im at school with no spell check) it helps....i agree it is not worth it, but it does.
those uses the 5v or 3v rails
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 12:45 PM   #15 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: My final list

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke View Post
when using a lot of perhepreals (sorry i can't spell it and im at school with no spell check) it helps....i agree it is not worth it, but it does.
How? You get the same total power, but the effective power on a single rail is higher. less loss on the rails, and you don't have to organize.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 01:15 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: My final list

Quote:
How? You get the same total power, but the effective power on a single rail is higher. less loss on the rails, and you don't have to organize.
Quote:
those uses the 5v or 3v rails
power supplies that have more than one +12V power rail, it is preferable for stability reasons to spread the power load over the 12V rails evenly to help avoid overloading one of the rails on the power supply.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 01:22 PM   #17 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: My final list

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke View Post
power supplies that have more than one +12V power rail, it is preferable for stability reasons to spread the power load over the 12V rails evenly to help avoid overloading one of the rails on the power supply.
and I am saying... fans, lights, optical drives... etc uses either the 3v or 5v rails

did you think the 3v and 5v rails just idles while 12v rail does everything?
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 02:50 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
NYbadboy911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 200
Send a message via AIM to NYbadboy911
Default Re: My final list

i want a modular for around 160$ cant find any helpp
NYbadboy911 is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 03:18 PM   #19 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: My final list

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke View Post
power supplies that have more than one +12V power rail, it is preferable for stability reasons to spread the power load over the 12V rails evenly to help avoid overloading one of the rails on the power supply.
I'm not sure who told you that, but there is more than one rail in a psu. We are referring to the 12v rail, it handles the mobo, cpu and video cards. The 3v and 5v rails handle the drives. If you have one rail the total amperage for the rail is available for your cpu and video card. If you have multiple rails then you may be starving your card of power without knowing it. With multiple rails you have to do what is called load balancing. That means you find out which cables go to which rail and you make sure you aren't putting everything on one rail. Remember, for the same wattage a 2 rail psu effectively has half the amperage on each rail as a single rail psu (assuming the total 12v amps is the same). One the single rail the video cards gets all of it, on a 2 rail the video card only gets the amps from one of them. its max power draw was just cut in half. And if your psu is cutting it close, or if you have a lot of stuff plugged in you can get unstable. Aside form cost (its cheaper to make 2 wimpy rails than one beefy rail) I see absolutely no advantage in a multi-rail psu. Then again the cost isn't much of an advantage because I don't buy cheap psu's. I have seen far too many blow up because some fool cut corners. Most fo the psu's we recommend are single rail, you will notice that the only multi-rail psu's that pcp&p, corsair and seasonic carry are only their highest wattage psu's, where it is I'm practical to make single rail psu's due to the high amperage, and the amps on each rail are so high it makes little difference.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 05:33 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
NYbadboy911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 200
Send a message via AIM to NYbadboy911
Default Re: My final list

Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX 850W ATX12V 2.2 &#47; EPS12V 2.91 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready Active PFC Power Supply - Power Supplies

ok i guess im going with this one!

is it good?
__________________

NYbadboy911 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP! Battlefield 2 Crashes when entering Singleplayer,Multiplayer, and Audio Options Grayman PC Gaming 7 03-17-2009 02:26 AM
Microsoft Visual c++ error GG1972 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 02-13-2009 10:52 PM
Possibly My Final list! johnnyrocc New Systems | Building and Buying 3 01-30-2009 12:28 PM
Final Component List ReptiGuy System Upgrades 1 12-04-2008 02:04 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.