My Final Build... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-17-2006, 09:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to blast2blaze
Default My Final Build...

Ima order these parts in the morning, but if u see a problem, please leave a message as soon as possible.

CPU- Core2Duo E6300

http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...ductCode=80858

Mobo- ASrock 775Dual-Vsta

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813157092

Ram- PQI 1gb ddrII 667

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820141187

Case/Power-supply - Ultra Aluminus, 500w x2 power supply

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...&sku=TC3J-2145

HDD- Seagate 160gb Sata

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...sku=TSD-160AS3

DVD burner - Samsung with LightScribe

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827151118

Video Card - Biostar 7600gs

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814141031

Anti Static Wrist strap

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16899888207

Surge Protector-

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16812120401

25ft ethernet cable for 9 bux.

total comes to about $720 and that is right on my budget.

Do u guys see nything wrong or a waste on this list? If so, please comment.

Thanks in advance.
__________________

blast2blaze is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 10:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 419
Send a message via AIM to Dr DMoney
Default

Get a better mobo. It doesn't support conroe maybe the socket but not conroe. The ram isn't the right speed anyway. If you are going conroe i recomend 2 gb at least. Otherwise it looks good.
__________________

__________________
The start of my signature...
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/7041/sig0jc.png
Dr DMoney is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 10:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 230
Default

Newegg doesn't state that the motherboard you chose supports Core 2 Duo, I wouldn't risk getting that mother board, also I'd get a 7600GT instead of a GS. Get some Artic Silver 5 as well.

For the motherboard you could get the Asus p5n sli nforce 570 lga 775, its almost double the price of that Asrock, but imho, well worth it.
http://www.ewiz.com/detail.php?name=MB-P5NSLI
__________________
C2D E6600 @ 3.15ghz w/ 1.35 vcore
Abit AW9D-MAX
Scythe Infinity
2GB G.Skill DDR2-800 (4-4-4-12)
XFX 7600GT xXx
Silverstone Tj-06
Drizo is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 10:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 419
Send a message via AIM to Dr DMoney
Default

Yeah for you that would be the best choce.
__________________
The start of my signature...
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/7041/sig0jc.png
Dr DMoney is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 10:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to blast2blaze
Default

the customer reviews state conroe does work with it

http://www.hardwarezone.com/articles...?cid=6&id=1998

^u can see in the pic, conroe is staed under the socket and its under the specs
blast2blaze is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 06:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 419
Send a message via AIM to Dr DMoney
Default

It is really cheep board. To me the mobo is the first and best thing you should buy. Budget gamers will need to spend need 1000 to get a fairly decent mobo. The one you picked isn't that good for conroe. I suspect it will crash because the boards wasn't made for conroe. Even though it may support it. Go with the one drizo posted. Much more stable for the conroe.
__________________
The start of my signature...
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/7041/sig0jc.png
Dr DMoney is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 07:41 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

Anandtech did a nice review on that board , done very well
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 08:23 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default

You can get eVGA 7600GT CO for 138$ after rebate
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130283
maroon1 is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 11:10 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

YOu have to update the bios in order for it to work with conroe, and i believe when you do that it doesnt allow you to change the vcore. So you're gonna have a tough time ocing it.

Another think upgrade the ram to ddr2800 if you're going to oc.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.