My E8400 now water cooled (Koolance) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-08-2008, 12:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Question My E8400 now water cooled (Koolance)

I have trouble getting my Wolfdale above 4.16ghz (which now runs 3dMark06 at 18443) Temps at full Prime 95 load is 32 C idle and 38 C load!!!!!!! Super pi 11.157. My vcore is at 1.35 v and mem @ 2.1 v FSB at 1880 9x multiplier. How do I run this up to 4.4ghz? drop the multiplier to 8 and see if I can push the fsb to like 2150? Increase the core voltage or loosen the timings now 5-5-5-5-15? Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 02:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: My E8400 now water cooled (Koolance)

raise your vcore if your temps are that low dont worry about raisng our vcore, anything over 4.2 is pretty big and you need a pretty big vcore to handle it
__________________

__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 03:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: My E8400 now water cooled (Koolance)

/slowly shakes head

You just had to freaking buy koolance didn't you?
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 11:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
UA_Iron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857
Default Re: My E8400 now water cooled (Koolance)

Quote:
Originally Posted by aspire.comptech View Post
/slowly shakes head

You just had to freaking buy koolance didn't you?
I think he made a case for koolance being decent if he's running at 38C under load at 4.16ghz.
UA_Iron is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 11:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: My E8400 now water cooled (Koolance)

Not an amazing temp, and it really depends on what his ambient temp is, which he hasn't stated.

Also his koolance loop is only cooling one thing, a dual core cpu.
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 11:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
UA_Iron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857
Default Re: My E8400 now water cooled (Koolance)

Quote:
Originally Posted by aspire.comptech View Post
Not an amazing temp, and it really depends on what his ambient temp is, which he hasn't stated.

Also his koolance loop is only cooling one thing, a dual core cpu.
I'm not the watercooling guru...why are koolance subpar in your opinion?
UA_Iron is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 01:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Cool Re: My E8400 now water cooled (Koolance)

Quote:
Originally Posted by aspire.comptech View Post
Not an amazing temp, and it really depends on what his ambient temp is, which he hasn't stated.

Also his koolance loop is only cooling one thing, a dual core cpu.
I think you need to back off. It was the easiest install ever, My core temp's dropped 20 c accross the board. My quad is watercooled with a Petrus setup and it was a **** of alot harder to install and I get no better cooling. I'm not a fan of anybody's stuff, I just like what works for me. I appreciate the fact that you are passionate about the stuff that you see as the best on the market but Koolance has a very nice product as faar as I'm concerned. Now back to my other issue. How high should I go with the Vcore voltage?
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 02:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: My E8400 now water cooled (Koolance)

Quote:
Originally Posted by UA_Iron View Post
I'm not the watercooling guru...why are koolance subpar in your opinion?
They use subpar radiators in their kits and are well known for using aluminum in their blocks and loops. They are finally starting to change things but I still wouldn't trust any of their products until I know that aluminum has been completely phased out.

The biggest issue with that is that if Copper (found in most high end water cooling parts) is placed in a loop with aluminum (found in cheaper components) galvanic corrosion can and will occur unless you use significant amounts of antifreeze in your loop. The problem with antifreeze is that it is more viscous than water and reduces the overall performance.

Yeah the reason your temps are the same is because the Petras loop is cooling a quad with twice the heat output...
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 02:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Wink Re: My E8400 now water cooled (Koolance)

Quote:
Originally Posted by aspire.comptech View Post
They use subpar radiators in their kits and are well known for using aluminum in their blocks and loops. They are finally starting to change things but I still wouldn't trust any of their products until I know that aluminum has been completely phased out.

The biggest issue with that is that if Copper (found in most high end water cooling parts) is placed in a loop with aluminum (found in cheaper components) galvanic corrosion can and will occur unless you use significant amounts of antifreeze in your loop. The problem with antifreeze is that it is more viscous than water and reduces the overall performance.

Yeah the reason your temps are the same is because the Petras loop is cooling a quad with twice the heat output...
Thanks for the info. I am aware of the physics of dissimilar metal electrolysis. Good information, thanks. BTW, my E8400 is one that misreported temps to Coretemp and one of the core sensors was "stuck". For reasons which I cannot explain, my mobo temp display at bios and core temp are now the same and sensor testing shows them both funcitoning normally. So it appears that it took water cooling to improve sensor feedback? I'm at a loss.

Edit: I got the Koolance form a friend for $70 he went to a Asetek Phase cooler (OMG -32 c for his cpu at full load!! Q6600 runing at 3.67 ghz) He never had a sigle problem wiht this unit. He did, however, change out the coolant religiously ever 6 months. I bought a new CPU block from Koolance. I'll call Koolance and ask them if thier new blocks contain dissimilar metals i.e copper/aluminum! Thanks again!!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 11:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default Re: My E8400 now water cooled (Koolance)

ORB - Please login
I have it stable now at 4.275 at 1.45 core v running 46 c at full load. I am now screeming along!
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
e8400 vs e4300 andrewsvalesen New Systems | Building and Buying 23 03-28-2008 01:56 AM
im looking to water cool! Poizen22 Overclocking and Modding 35 03-24-2008 08:31 PM
water cooled htpc case? El_Roberto System Upgrades 0 01-11-2008 04:40 PM
FluidXP water replacement? CPU block Vs.? Akubane Overclocking and Modding 8 12-18-2007 02:37 AM
Cool looking Gigabyte water cooling case Prophet New Systems | Building and Buying 22 10-14-2007 06:50 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.