My dream computer - Is there anything out there similar?

Status
Not open for further replies.

mgledhill

Beta member
I am a CPA, a disabled firefighter and a casual computer gamer. I have a serious back injury which requires that I lay in my adjustable bed quite a lot throughout the day. I do a ton of my CPA work in bed, in addition to watching movies/shows on my laptop and playing games usually very late at night.

I have a pretty good laptop but it is pretty common knowledge that a laptop absolutely cannot compete with a desktop computer, especially when it comes to overheating issues.

I was thinking how insanely cool it would be to have a laptop-like system that had only a screen and keyboard, like a laptop does, but operate via some sort of cable off of a desktop/tower. I don't mean a laptop that syncs with a desktop or anything, but a laptop that was nothing more than a screen and keyboard, having the CPU, GPU/video card, hard drive, etc. in a tower.

I suppose I couldn't see a ton of people desiring this sort of system but for me it would be incredible for my needs.

Why not use a desktop with a sturdy monitor stand that is adjustable, and a good keyboard/mouse? They do make long KVM cables you can use to let the tower stay down on the floor a bit away....

Those are great ideas, but even those wouldn't quite work for me. Something that is mountable to a wall, would be OK, but I have limited wall space near my bed because of a large window, and it would realistically, need to be able to extend about 4 feet comfortably. Most of those examples seem to be pretty limited, as I can imagine due to extended weight putting too much force at the hinges. And I have a wife to contend with. That alone would be a hard sell. Although she does understand my situation.