Is my current psu fine for this hardware? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-26-2010, 06:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Is my current psu fine for this hardware?

5870 1GB
Core i7 -920
DDR3 6GB

My current psu is a Corsair 750w

Thx
__________________

Chad711 is offline  
Old 02-26-2010, 06:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Is my current psu fine for this hardware?

plenty.
__________________

Muffin Man is offline  
Old 02-26-2010, 07:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dirkpitt45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 755
Default Re: Is my current psu fine for this hardware?

Rather then start a new thread, friend is looking at a 5970. He's got a corsair 750tx and it doesn't have enough 8 pins. I assume you can use adapters to power it, but would it have to be two 6 pins to a single 8 pin? or a 6pin + 4pin to 8pin? I vaguely remember 6pins being 75w and 8pins being 150w or something
__________________
dirkpitt45 is offline  
Old 02-26-2010, 08:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Equator Gringo
 
james.wired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Panama
Posts: 2,318
Default Re: Is my current psu fine for this hardware?

More than enough power, you're good to go
__________________

PII 940 :: 5870 :: Rage powered
james.wired is offline  
Old 02-26-2010, 10:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Is my current psu fine for this hardware?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dirkpitt45 View Post
Rather then start a new thread, friend is looking at a 5970. He's got a corsair 750tx and it doesn't have enough 8 pins. I assume you can use adapters to power it, but would it have to be two 6 pins to a single 8 pin? or a 6pin + 4pin to 8pin? I vaguely remember 6pins being 75w and 8pins being 150w or something
what do you mean it doesn't have enough pcie pins?

a 5970 only requires 1 8 pin and 1 6 pin pcie cable, and the 750tx has 4 pcie cables.
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 02-26-2010, 11:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dirkpitt45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 755
Default Re: Is my current psu fine for this hardware?

I know, but can you use a straight 6-8 pin adapter or do you need something else?
__________________
dirkpitt45 is offline  
Old 02-26-2010, 11:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Is my current psu fine for this hardware?

i still don't understand what the problem is lol.

the corsair 750tx has 4 6+2 pcie cables, so for a 5970 you would just use a 6 pin and a 6+2 pin.
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 02-26-2010, 11:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dirkpitt45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 755
Default Re: Is my current psu fine for this hardware?

*Facepalm*

I need more sleep lmao. I was getting 4 + 4s mixed up with 6+2s..
__________________
dirkpitt45 is offline  
Old 02-26-2010, 11:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Carlosdzv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 74
Default Re: Is my current psu fine for this hardware?

You got enough power man.. dont worry about it
Carlosdzv is offline  
Old 02-27-2010, 02:11 PM   #10 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Is my current psu fine for this hardware?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dirkpitt45 View Post
*Facepalm*

I need more sleep lmao. I was getting 4 + 4s mixed up with 6+2s..
lol

i was also really tired when i read your post, and i thought maybe i was reading it wrong and missing something because my eyes were hurting >.<

atleast it's cleared up now
__________________

Muffin Man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Office PC PSU Dead? MerkwŁrdigeliebe Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 07-24-2008 07:58 PM
computer restarts on its own after psu swap mastamind518 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 07-19-2008 12:06 AM
PSU Trouble! Flipip Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 04-24-2008 04:19 PM
In Depth PSU Guide: Please Read. Oreo New Systems | Building and Buying 18 10-13-2007 11:54 AM
MAJOR Hardware Issue. Please help Patchiz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 07-15-2007 10:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.