My Computer not displaying proper ghz - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2007, 05:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
(>-_-)>
 
dashogun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: California
Posts: 338
Send a message via AIM to dashogun Send a message via MSN to dashogun Send a message via Yahoo to dashogun
Default My Computer not displaying proper ghz

When I overclock my CPU, CPU-Z displays the correct amount of Ghz but when I right click My Computer->Properties the Ghz value is incorrect.

Is there a way to fix the My Computer CPU value or is this normal.
__________________

__________________

My computer is now officially out of date :<
dashogun is offline  
Old 07-25-2007, 05:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: My Computer not displaying proper ghz

screenshot?
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-25-2007, 06:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
(>-_-)>
 
dashogun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: California
Posts: 338
Send a message via AIM to dashogun Send a message via MSN to dashogun Send a message via Yahoo to dashogun
Default Re: My Computer not displaying proper ghz

Pentium 4 520 overclocked from 2.8ghz to 3.8ghz

__________________

My computer is now officially out of date :<
dashogun is offline  
Old 07-25-2007, 09:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: My Computer not displaying proper ghz

Im pretty sure windows just looks at the chip ID, not its actual speed. So it just sees the type of chip and what the manufacturer clocked it at originally. This happens with everyone, cpuz is right.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 07-25-2007, 10:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: My Computer not displaying proper ghz

My overclocked amd does show the overclocked speed.
The ID for the processor probably contains the 2.80ghz. It looks like its just showing the wrong number which is what the 169mhz is, or thats what the chip is running at since nothings running...
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 07-25-2007, 11:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: My Computer not displaying proper ghz

thats weird but just an error on windows part...as Windows does detect my overclocked E6300 as well.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 07-25-2007, 11:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default Re: My Computer not displaying proper ghz

oh well. Atleast it IS running at the cpu-z speed and just displaying different, instead of the other way around. Weird. O_o
__________________

Static_11 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Serious computer problem. HeeRoMaKi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 71 07-28-2007 11:42 PM
HELP!!!! I disabled my graphics card by accident, need help!! Wildside Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-16-2007 07:29 PM
Cant seem to fix this dang computer morrty Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 06-11-2007 11:09 PM
computer freezes/beeps forever cullensmi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-12-2007 12:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.