My Computer of Computers - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-23-2005, 03:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to Amai
Default My Computer of Computers

I'm putting together a gaming computer, and i've got most everything figured out. just curious about one things though, as i'm a little lost...below is my current specs.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820208125
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813127222
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811129158
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103537
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814145098
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822140166
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827151066
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16821103116

now comes my question.

it's been said to me that windows xp can and will onlyi support up to 2 gigs of ram. now this kind of saddens me because i'd much rather have 4 gig in there (after it's all said and done).

is this true? i don't feel that it is, it seems kind of weird that they would put together a motherboard that supports it but sets up an os that doesn't.

thanks in advance!
__________________

Amai is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 03:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

XP can handel more than 2 gig of ram. Don't quote me on it, but I think it supports 16gb of ram, and even more with xp 64bit, 128gb's

I think where you got that from, is the actual computer gets bogged down with having 4gb's of ram.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 03:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

ok you don't want 1stick of ram. run two sticks in duel channel if your motherboard supports it. and if you want a good socket 939 board go with the DFI Lanparty series, anyone on this forum will tell you this. what's your budget? you should go with a san diego core, more L2 cache. for your GPU, go with eVGA instead of chaintech. and for hDDs go with a Sata 250GB Western Digital or Seagate barracuda.

~Jack
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 03:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 58
Default

Actually, I don't think XP supports more than 2. I think with like Service Pack 2 you can go higher, but I'm not sure about it since not many people use 4 gigs.

But yea, WinXP 64-bit can support more than any home-class motherboard can handle.

EDIT: I just took a look at the rest of your system. Stick with 2GB of RAM and use the $200 to get a better processor.

Your motherboard, though its fine for regular use, might not do so well with overclocking. I have the Abit AV8 and I'm not too happy with it.

Recommendation; DFI Lanparty nF4 Ultra-D <-- Best motherboard ever.
Flanker2 is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 04:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to Amai
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820141437

how about this for ram then-2 sets for a total of 2 gig

i'm not really planning on doing any overclocking, not for a long while at least. this is going to be the first computer i'll be putting together on my own and i don't want to overstep any boundries just yet.

i took a look at the motherboard you suggested, and i have to say that's a pretty decent price for what you get.

unfortunately, it's very very intimidating, as i don't nderstand half of the features, so i think i'll stick with my current motherboard choice.

i'm trying to run under 1000 total, so some of thi stuff is a expendable (i have dvd reader and cd writer-just thought i'd like a new one)

could you give me a link to the evga video card? i can't seem to find it.
Amai is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 04:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 304
Send a message via AIM to truebe
Default

eVGA PCI-E 6600GT

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130214
__________________
Gigabyte EP-45 DS3R
e7200 @ 3.2
G.skill 4GB
Gigabyte 4850
Corsair VX 550
truebe is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 04:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to Amai
Default

thanks, i would definiately agree that the evga is better than the chaintech in this instance.

would a better processor then the one i've chosen really give me any kind of power difference that is at all noticeable? (sp on everything i've typed thusfar)
Amai is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 04:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

i would stick with ur processor and OC it, you can easily get the 3000+ to 4000+ speeds with good air cooling
Spartan is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 04:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to Amai
Default

where could i get instructions for overclocking?
Amai is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 04:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

these forums, lol, OCing's simple, just make sure to do it slowly and test everytime, go over to the Overclocking part of these forums
__________________

Spartan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.