My Computer???????????? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-02-2006, 09:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 170
Default My Computer????????????

i was thinking of biulding a computer with all theses components


amd athlon 64 3800 x2 cpu
DFI -- NF4 Infinity nForce4 mobo
ddr2 igb ram 5300 ram
sata 120 gb 7200rpm hard drive
video card i have no idea i want to spend around a 100$



i dont know if i want to overclock but i herd that dfi s were good for that i will be primarily using this for gaming and then some media managing i would like to multi task and i also herd that the dual cores where great for that as well. video card i have no clue. soo if you guys have any thoughts that would be great. if you think that i should switch a component out for another try and keep it around the same price range.
__________________

threemooses is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 10:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 426
Default

1. you need ddr1 NOT ddr2
2. what is this going to be used for?
__________________

__________________
I\'m happy with it.
X2 4400+
ATI X1800 XT
2x1gb Corsair XMS CL2
1 Raptor 74 gig
ABIT AN8 Ultra
OCZ Powerstream 520w
BColes is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 10:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 170
Default

but isnt ddr2 faster trnsfer
__________________
Main Rig

Athlon 64 3700
1 gig ram
XFX GeForce 6800gs
ASUS a8n-e nForce
WD 80GB SATA 7200rpm
LiteOn DVD Burner
threemooses is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 10:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 426
Default

AMD doesn't have support for ddr2 yet. The mobo you selected won't fit ddr2 modules. If you wait a while AMD will be putting out CPUs with ddr2 support. I'm not sure when those will be released though.
__________________
I\'m happy with it.
X2 4400+
ATI X1800 XT
2x1gb Corsair XMS CL2
1 Raptor 74 gig
ABIT AN8 Ultra
OCZ Powerstream 520w
BColes is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 10:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

Yes but as of now (until the AMD revisions are released) AMD cannot use DDR2 at all. DDR is the fastest RAM available at the time. DDR2 really doesn't make a huge difference in performance at the time anyway.

Anyway, I'd reccomend going with an AMD Opteron 148 Socket 939 and buying a 6800GS. Take some funding away from your processor and use it to fuel your video card, because if and when you want to game, you'll definetly be glad you bought it. For $100 more the 7800GT provides a whole lot more power, but that will run you $300.
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 10:26 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 426
Default

If you are going to play games you'll need to spend at least $200ish for a video.
__________________

__________________
I\'m happy with it.
X2 4400+
ATI X1800 XT
2x1gb Corsair XMS CL2
1 Raptor 74 gig
ABIT AN8 Ultra
OCZ Powerstream 520w
BColes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.