My C2D system is built - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-19-2007, 12:09 AM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Higach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Illinois
Posts: 176
Send a message via AIM to Higach
Default

Oh also, are these normal? I got the 6400 on stock speeds and stock fans but these temps seem high to me.. Is it normal for only 50% load during prime95 stress test?

http://home.comcast.net/~jdowns2700/StressTest.JPG

Edit: I am wondering if the processor fan isnt spinning fast enough making the cpu heat up more than it should be for not being overclocked at all... or is it just stock fans suck and the zalman would make a huge difference?
__________________

__________________

Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.2 GHz
Zalman 9500 HSF
BIOSTAR Tforce 965PT
eVGA 7950gt 512MB @ 590/740
3x1GB G.Skill DDR2 800 PC2 6400
Western Digital 160GB 7200RPM 16mb Cache
KINGWIN sk-523
Fortorn Source FSP 400W
Higach is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 12:39 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
darkop16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 553
Send a message via AIM to darkop16
Default

stress test guide

explains it in detail....should help you out.

Those temps don't seem bad for stock. I think it could be lower but if you used the thermal pad then your pretty much stuck. You can get some as5 to re do it but that thermal pad is already burnt into the cpu cervices so you won't get as good of temps with as5 unless someone knows how to completely clean off a thermal pad?
__________________

__________________
CPU: e6600 @ 3.2ghz
RAM: 2GB G.Skill HZ PC6400
Mobo: ASUS P5B Deluxe
GPU: Sapphire HD4870
Soundcard: Creative Labs X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
HDDs: 250GB WD + 750GB WD + 2x1TB WD
Monitor: Samsung 226BW
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 600W
Case: Cooler Master Stacker
OS: XP Professional SP3
Mouse/keyboard: Logitech MX518/Saitek Eclipse II
Speakers: Logitech Z-2300
darkop16 is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 12:45 AM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Higach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Illinois
Posts: 176
Send a message via AIM to Higach
Default

are the core temps the right to look at or should i be looking at the "Processor temp" cuz when i minimize it it just says CPU Temp: 24 C but the 2 cores are at like 54-56
__________________

Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.2 GHz
Zalman 9500 HSF
BIOSTAR Tforce 965PT
eVGA 7950gt 512MB @ 590/740
3x1GB G.Skill DDR2 800 PC2 6400
Western Digital 160GB 7200RPM 16mb Cache
KINGWIN sk-523
Fortorn Source FSP 400W
Higach is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 12:50 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
darkop16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 553
Send a message via AIM to darkop16
Default

hmmm...try using easytune 5 that came with the ds3, and see what temps it gives you. Or speedfan is a good temp reader.

edit: sry i was thinking about spartan1121, im helping him out on overclocking too and he's got a ds3. Try speed fan and see what temps it gives you.
__________________
CPU: e6600 @ 3.2ghz
RAM: 2GB G.Skill HZ PC6400
Mobo: ASUS P5B Deluxe
GPU: Sapphire HD4870
Soundcard: Creative Labs X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
HDDs: 250GB WD + 750GB WD + 2x1TB WD
Monitor: Samsung 226BW
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 600W
Case: Cooler Master Stacker
OS: XP Professional SP3
Mouse/keyboard: Logitech MX518/Saitek Eclipse II
Speakers: Logitech Z-2300
darkop16 is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 01:32 AM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

Higach, to monitor temps of your Conrie download Core Temp. It's a very small app you can set to load on startup. Accurate, too.

Edit: Also, I'd suggest downloading SpeedFan. The temperature readings are similar to those of Core Temp (usually a 1 or 2°C difference). What's good about SpeedFan is that you can graph the temperature reading. It's useful to watch the trends as they develop during a test.

For reference, my E6300 idles at around 39°C, has normal operating temperatures around 46°C (games and such) and caps with Prime95 at full load at 60°C. I'm using the stock cooler. Here's a pic:



As an interesting comment, notice how normal operation doesn't really stress the CPU in my case. It must be because I'm video-card limited.
__________________

__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.