My C2D Build Ordering Soon! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-23-2007, 02:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 75
Cool My C2D Build Ordering Soon!

Below is my build for a mid-range gaming system that i hope will keep for a while to come. Although i've been limited by a budget i feel that i have got some quality parts for quite a good price. I'm a bit of a noob as this is my first build, does everything fit together? Comments on improvements are very welcome!

Processor : Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 2.13 GHz
http://www.dabs.com/productview.aspx...1147&InMerch=1
Motherboard: Gigabyte S775 Intel 965P ATX GLan 8CH Audio (ATX)
http://www.dabs.com/productview.aspx...=2#infoarea925
Graphics Card: Nvidia GeForce 7950 GT 512 MB
http://www.dabs.com/productview.aspx...de=1&InMerch=1
Memory: 2 x 1GB Corsair PC2-6400 CL4
http://www.dabs.com/productview.aspx...239,4294955925
HDD: 2 x WD Caviar RE 7200 RPM 160GB (In RAID 0)
http://www.dabs.com/productview.aspx...0&v=2#infoarea
Optical Drive: Samsung DVD Rewriter 18x Dual Layer (IDE)
http://www.dabs.com/ProductView.aspx...G&v=2#infoarea
PSU: Antec Neo HE ATX 500W PSU
http://www.dabs.com/ProductView.aspx...5&v=3#infoarea
or Akasa Ultra quiet Active PFC 500watts PSU with 12cm Fan
http://www.dabs.com/ProductView.aspx...8&v=2#infoarea
Case: Antec SLK3000B Black Super Mid Tower
http://www.dabs.com/productview.aspx...1&v=2#infoarea
Speakers: Logitech S200 Speakers
http://www.dabs.com/ProductView.aspx...N&v=2#infoarea
__________________

M0rga is offline  
Old 01-23-2007, 05:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nukem


drop down to an E6300 or up to an E6600
the 6400 is a slightly over clocked 6300 anyway...

but it's a decent start...
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 01-23-2007, 05:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 75
Default

Well i can't really afford to upgrade to a E6600 but you really think the 6400 is just an overclocked 6300? I thought it may have some features disabled or something...
M0rga is offline  
Old 01-23-2007, 05:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 75
Default

Are you seriously saying intel charges an extra £20 for a processor that has been slightly overclocked? Apparently the 6300 has a multiplier set at 7 and the 6400 set at 8.
M0rga is offline  
Old 01-23-2007, 06:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default

yes, the 6400 has higher multi but.... read on
I don't know if you are a overclocker or not but they are both great OC chips
obviously you will get MARGINALLY better performance when you spend £20 more but
the performance you gain is again, *IMHO* marginal
check this out
http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets...spx?i=2802&p=1
check out the testing result pages 4 and beyond they show you performance gain between both the OC'd e6400 and e6300
if you want to throw down £20 more, thats you choice still a great chip no doubt but you might also want to consider this new chip e4300
http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets...spx?i=2903&p=2

Edit:
also someone back me up~
I don't like these 1 vs 1 conversations
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 01-23-2007, 06:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 75
Default

Gah... Now i'm really annoyed. I've just read that the E6420 will come out in the second quarter and will be cheaper than the current E6400 but with a 4 mb cache! I really don't want to buy a processor now finding that in a few months a better version has come which is cheaper. Looks like more waiting...
M0rga is offline  
Old 01-23-2007, 06:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default

there will ALWAYS be *something better* in a *few months*
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 01-24-2007, 08:08 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default

just go with a e4300 like me and overclock it like to the max!!!! it plays really well on games, very cheap and scored pretty well on benchmarks when u overclock it, better than a processor 8 times the cost (core 2 duo extreme x6800)!!!
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-24-2007, 11:27 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 75
Default

I was thinking of going for a E6600 but mabye i shouldn't? The money i save on a E6300 i could spend on a good after market fan.
__________________

M0rga is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.