My build I've been thinking about. Advice=good! - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-12-2007, 12:03 PM   #21 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Re: My build I've been thinking about. Advice=good!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akumajin View Post
Do you know of any examples of programs that access the hard drive a lot? I use everything from games of all kind, to rendering pictures etc. in Photoshop and Illustrator CS3.

Also, what is a paging file exactly?
Most games only have noticeable hard drive access during actual loading screens. Such as when you zone into an instance in World of Warcraft. A progress bar comes up on a loading screen. The only part of games that you will notice go faster is that loading screen.

Photoshop I don't think does much hard drive access either. Only when loading on startup, saving, and opening files.

No games will get higher frames per second from faster hard drives. The way they are designed is to be RAM intensive, so that you don't need a fast hard drive.

In all honesty, I can't think of any programs that would benefit noticeably from faster hard drives either. I'm sure there are some, but they are rare.

The paging file is a section of your hard drive that Windows uses for virtual memory, to reduce stress on your actual memory. Since it is on the hard drive, it is much slower than actual memory, and it is recommended to disable the paging file if you have more than 2GB of RAM.
__________________

aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 11-12-2007, 03:02 PM   #22 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 84
Default Re: My build I've been thinking about. Advice=good!

Cool I will have more than 2GB. How do I disable it?

Thanks for the quick answers, by the way.

Oh yeah and looking at some mobos, they say they have ATA100, does that mean they support E-IDE/ATAPI as well or does it have to specifically state that?
__________________

Akumajin is offline  
Old 11-13-2007, 01:57 AM   #23 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 84
Default Re: My build I've been thinking about. Advice=good!

Bump...
Akumajin is offline  
Old 11-13-2007, 02:15 AM   #24 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 184
Send a message via AIM to blackhawk13
Default Re: My build I've been thinking about. Advice=good!

I would assume it would be in the BIOS, no? That's just a guess though. I'll Google it...

I was wrong lol. You can disable it in regedit apparently.

Win XP Increasing System Performance by disable paging - Techie Corner

Good luck. .
blackhawk13 is offline  
Old 11-13-2007, 05:46 AM   #25 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: My build I've been thinking about. Advice=good!

at the end of the day raptors are not all that much faster and coz u a fortune its just not worth it
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 11-13-2007, 04:02 PM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default Re: My build I've been thinking about. Advice=good!

you can disable paging in windows cant you? Start>control panel >system > Advanced > Advanced? thats how I've Always done it?
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 11-13-2007, 04:27 PM   #27 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Re: My build I've been thinking about. Advice=good!

Quote:
Originally Posted by madmediablitz View Post
you can disable paging in windows cant you? Start>control panel >system > Advanced > Advanced? thats how I've Always done it?
Pretty close.

Start > Control Panel > System > Advanced (tab) > Settings (under Performance) > Advanced (tab) > Change (under Virtual Memory)

One of the radio buttons will say "No Paging File".

This is the method I recommend doing it. Windows gives it to you up front, so don't do it in the registry.
aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 11-13-2007, 05:10 PM   #28 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: My build I've been thinking about. Advice=good!

in regards to what I said on the previous page:

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
i don't think he wants to blow 400$ on a board... If you go with a 680i based board.. it has to be the MSI Diamond because of the built in X-Fi audio or the Abit 680i or get the XFX or eVGA 680i
thanks to Nosboost we have a new board to praise that supports SLi... the P5N32-E Plus board... don't be fooled with the 650i chipset.. its got the x16 PCI-e in SLi
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 11-13-2007, 09:44 PM   #29 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
macdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 813
Default Re: My build I've been thinking about. Advice=good!

"at the end of the day raptors are not all that much faster and coz u a fortune its just not worth it"

I agree that a good sata 3gbs hard drive with 16 mb cache like this one is sufficient and for the dollar is awesome.

Newegg.com - Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3250410AS 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

That said, I have seen youtube videos of a guy with raptors in raid 0, running every game under the sun maxed settings while recording with fraps and not a single stutter in a 10 minute video. A fast hard drive can help smooth a game out just like ram does, but the extra money spent could be spent better.

Lastly, I wouldn't disable the pagefile, this article sums up nicely.

Windows Article - Welcome
macdawg is offline  
Old 11-13-2007, 11:31 PM   #30 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Re: My build I've been thinking about. Advice=good!

Quote:
Originally Posted by macdawg View Post
Lastly, I wouldn't disable the pagefile, this article sums up nicely.

Windows Article - Welcome
The article is wrong. Read some of the comments on it by people that know what they're talking about. Here's one:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil from the comments
Daniel is correct.

Microsoft's claim that the pagefile is used only "when the memory in use by all the existing processes exceeds the amount of RAM available" is blatantly untrue. Let's just call it a lie.

WinXP tries to send ALL inactive paged memory to the pagefile. It is fairly agressive in what it considers 'inactive'. Don't believe me? Lauch a few large applications (but make sure you still have plenty of physical RAM), leave your computer for 30 minutes, and come back and check the pagefile. If you don't want to figure out which counter to use in Performance Monitor, here is a great little tool: Windows Tweaks & Tips - Bill James, Microsoft MVP

As you can see, WinXP will shove as much of your running application to the pagefile as possible. Usually half of my allocated RAM is offloaded to the pagefile even with hundreds of free MB of physical RAM. I have had particular trouble with memory intensive applications, but I see preformance degradation across the board. My 1GB system might as well be a 128MB system, given the way WinXP thrashes my hard drive with pagefile swaps. My total memory usage rarely goes above 500MB.

Bottom line: if you have a lot of memory (and it is so cheap these days) turn off your pagefile for a dramatic performance boost.

One warning: You are more vulnerable if you encounter a nasty memory leak, as you have no pagefile to buffer you. So programmers and beta testers may want to keep their pagefile.

-Neil
__________________

aetherh4cker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thinking about this Budget Build dave39 New Systems | Building and Buying 11 10-11-2007 07:31 PM
Domain Controller and SQL server Build abadjay New Systems | Building and Buying 2 10-05-2007 08:39 AM
Critique (and help with) My Build! aetherh4cker New Systems | Building and Buying 3 09-19-2007 03:34 PM
New Build... suicide007 New Systems | Building and Buying 34 08-20-2007 12:01 AM
A newb story: Buying is done...time to build jfenwick New Systems | Building and Buying 83 08-17-2007 12:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.