My build: good? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-17-2006, 03:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 303
Default My build: good?

Hey guys, I'm building my own computer, but I'm not overclocking. This is what I'm thinking of putting in it: is it going to be overkill(which my friend thinks) or is it ok? I'm keeping the gfx card though, and I want looks and quality.

Ultra / X-Finity / 500-Watt / ATX / 120mm Fan / SATA-Ready / SLI-Ready / Titanium / Power Supply

Xion II Black ATX Mid-Tower Case with Clear Side Front USB and Audio Ports and 450-Watt Power Supply( I heard this power supply is bad)

eVGA GeForce 7800 GT CO / 256MB GDDR3 / PCI Express / SLI / Dual DVI / VIVO / Video Card with Free Quake 4 PC Game
Manufacturer: eVGA $319.99

E145-7806 6. eVGA GeForce 7800 GT CO / 256MB GDDR3 / PCI Express / SLI / Dual DVI / HDTV / Video Card with Free Quake 4 PC Game
Manufacturer: eVGA $296.99*

E145-7808 7. eVGA GeForce 7800 GT / 256MB GDDR3 / PCI Express / SLI / Dual DVI / VIVO / Video Card with Free Quake 4 PC Game
276.99(what's the difference between all of these?)

AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ 2.0GHz / 1MB Cache / 2000MHz FSB / Socket 939 / Dual-Core (Manchester) / Processor with Fan

Creative Labs SoundBlaster Live 24-Bit PCI Sound Card (Retail Box
or
Creative Labs Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic PCI Sound Card

2gigs of good ram(what kind?)

some mouse and keyboard

Cooling?

19" monitor- LCD

Please help! I won't ask a question and leave forever like other people!
__________________

__________________
Getting a new computer: specs coming soon...
KryptoKnight is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 03:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 363
Send a message via AIM to chevytrucknut
Default

everything looks good EXCEPT your PSU. DON'T get it. Get an enermax, fortron, or Antec. 500 - 550W should do you fine.

For your RAM, since you won't be OCing, just get any kind , like corsair Value select will work fine
__________________

__________________
the old system...
OPTERON 165
EVGA GeForce 6600GT
Enermax Whisper II 535W PSU
Big TYPHOON
1.2 TB
1GB Ram
Chaintech VNF4 Ultra
chevytrucknut is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 03:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

get the fortron 450w from newgg. i know its 450w but its got 36A on the 12v rails. its the one im getting flanker siad its realy nice for a 50$ PSU

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104954
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 03:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
NickFas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 273
Default

I would say get some g.skill value ram

o and about your cooling, your cooling is definitly fine if you aren't ocing, just make sure you dont buy your processor OEM, it doesn't come with a hs+f.
__________________
Proud owner of the only hampster powered rig on these boards.
NickFas is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 04:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 303
Default

Thanks! By the way,, what does OEM stand for? I remember someone saying it, but i don't remember. Isn't something like off original manufacturer?
__________________
Getting a new computer: specs coming soon...
KryptoKnight is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 04:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

fortron psu is excellent bang-for-the-buck. i have the cheap patriot signature series value ram and it OC'ed to 230mhz at stock timings....so if you think you might want to OC in the future, go with that ram....same price as the corsair value ram.

how about the mobo? what are you looking at? the Foxconn mobo in my sig was cheap, benches well (search google for reviews), and is stable.

p.s. OEM = Original Equipment Manufacturer... i think. It usually differs from the retail packages alot, so be sure you know what comes with the parts. OEM cpus come without the heatsink/fan. OEM hdd's come without any connectors. just some examples
__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 04:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 363
Send a message via AIM to chevytrucknut
Default

Original Equipment Manufacturers. Basically it's a white box that includes nothing but the thing you bought - no cables, manuals, nothing.
__________________
the old system...
OPTERON 165
EVGA GeForce 6600GT
Enermax Whisper II 535W PSU
Big TYPHOON
1.2 TB
1GB Ram
Chaintech VNF4 Ultra
chevytrucknut is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 04:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 303
Default

Oh yeah, forgot to write that. I'm looking at a DFi Lanparty Ultra D. Patriot Signature is a bit more expensive, so I don't know, but I do plan on overclocking in the future, so I'll check my budget.
__________________
Getting a new computer: specs coming soon...
KryptoKnight is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 04:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

They are right about the XION II psu. I have that case and the psu is a total POS.

If you do go with a DFI, get some nice ram so you can oc more. The g.skill extreme series 2x1gb set isnt a bad price and is fairly good ocing ram. If you decide to get a dfi and expensive ram, look into the Opteron 165. That is basically a x2 3800 that can OC better.

What hhd are you going to get?

The difference between those 7800gts are the speeds at which they run at.
thebleakness is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 04:46 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 363
Send a message via AIM to chevytrucknut
Default

lol you said you weren't overclocking! Now you are?

Okay, things to change -

1) Get the Opteron 165 or 170, as these will OC way better than a 3800+ x2
2) No more value RAM, you're gonna have to go with something like what thebleakness said, GSkill extreme series.
__________________

__________________
the old system...
OPTERON 165
EVGA GeForce 6600GT
Enermax Whisper II 535W PSU
Big TYPHOON
1.2 TB
1GB Ram
Chaintech VNF4 Ultra
chevytrucknut is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.