My Build - AGAIN! :( - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-11-2006, 01:30 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default

You should only get that crossfire board if you plan on going crossfire later. I don't see a point in it, you'll only see a big improvement in 3dmark and on higher resolutions. -Charlie
__________________

__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 01:53 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 241
Default

and what PSU is best
__________________

Amidamaru is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 02:02 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default

I would go with a Antec TruePower 2 550 watt psu.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103931
The reviews are really good
__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 02:25 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I'm sticking with the Hiper. If anything you should do it to bycott rediculouse prices on the Antec PSU's with their 1$ =~£1 :@ (I'm really annoyed about that today due to seeing 3 places it has happened, once on the watercooling, once on the 7900gt and another when specing a PC.)

Have a look on some reviews for the Type R, you will fall in love with it
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 02:51 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 241
Default

Split vote here again and on something i know little about.

Is that OCZ memory i choose ok atleast?
Amidamaru is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 02:58 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Yeah there's nothing wrong with it, OCZ is a good manufacture. The timmings could be tighter and for £20 more you can get the platinum which has 2-3-2-5 timmings and will overclock better (at www.overclockers.co.uk) but it is not essential to get low timmings as most users will not see the benefit of it.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 04:20 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 241
Default

Still unsure about this PSU business.

on ebuyer that Hiper that someone said about seems to be quite popular in the reviews.

http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=98562

and they using around my specs.

I just hope the case is easy enough to work with as i am not that confident building this big build
Amidamaru is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 03:26 AM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 241
Default

People can people check to make sure these are all compatible
Amidamaru is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 04:33 AM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I just checked again and there wasn't any incompatible parts.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 04:47 AM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 241
Default

Thanks man
__________________

Amidamaru is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.