My Build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-09-2007, 05:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Higach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Illinois
Posts: 176
Send a message via AIM to Higach
Default My Build

Ok I know I have posted this before but what do you think? Would it be wiser to extend my budget a little for dual channel 2x1gb ram? would it be smarter to go cheaper 7900gs or 7950gt 256 or 512? is the ram gonna be fine with the mobo? Is the case ok? just any last minute advice before i order in a few days.

Motherboard: $104.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813138037

Processor: $190.00
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115005

Memory: $114.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231085

Hard Drive: $62.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136062

Video Card: $200.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130074

Optical Drive: $18.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827101131

Case: $57.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811170027

Power Supply: $43.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104953

Total $794.93
__________________

__________________

Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.2 GHz
Zalman 9500 HSF
BIOSTAR Tforce 965PT
eVGA 7950gt 512MB @ 590/740
3x1GB G.Skill DDR2 800 PC2 6400
Western Digital 160GB 7200RPM 16mb Cache
KINGWIN sk-523
Fortorn Source FSP 400W
Higach is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 05:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default

sorry my firefox was screwed up
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 05:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

I heard that motherboard can overclock C2Ds pretty well. Good choice on the c2d setup overall. 2x1gb will be really helpful, if you game alot. If you want, you can go 7900GS, and upgrade to the budget DX10 cards in a few months. Even though the power supply is cheap, that is a name brand PSU. And I have the exact same one, and it has served me very well for over a year.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 05:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Higach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Illinois
Posts: 176
Send a message via AIM to Higach
Default

Would a 7900GS 256mb with 2x1GB 800 run better than the 7950GT 256 or even 512mb with only 1GB 800?
__________________

Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.2 GHz
Zalman 9500 HSF
BIOSTAR Tforce 965PT
eVGA 7950gt 512MB @ 590/740
3x1GB G.Skill DDR2 800 PC2 6400
Western Digital 160GB 7200RPM 16mb Cache
KINGWIN sk-523
Fortorn Source FSP 400W
Higach is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 07:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Higach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Illinois
Posts: 176
Send a message via AIM to Higach
Default

I figured the price difference:

with 7900GS and 2x1GB 800 it would be about $850
with 7950GT 512MB and 1GB 800 it would be about $850
with 7950GT 256MB and 1GB 800 it would be about $800

256 with 2GB is about $920 and 512 with 2GB is almost $1000


how much saving is worth it and how much is gimping the machine?
__________________

Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.2 GHz
Zalman 9500 HSF
BIOSTAR Tforce 965PT
eVGA 7950gt 512MB @ 590/740
3x1GB G.Skill DDR2 800 PC2 6400
Western Digital 160GB 7200RPM 16mb Cache
KINGWIN sk-523
Fortorn Source FSP 400W
Higach is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 11:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Higach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Illinois
Posts: 176
Send a message via AIM to Higach
Default

also is 1.5gigs pointless? If i got like 1GB stick and then 1 512mb stick of the DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) would it be fine or does it not work right with the dual channel?
__________________

Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.2 GHz
Zalman 9500 HSF
BIOSTAR Tforce 965PT
eVGA 7950gt 512MB @ 590/740
3x1GB G.Skill DDR2 800 PC2 6400
Western Digital 160GB 7200RPM 16mb Cache
KINGWIN sk-523
Fortorn Source FSP 400W
Higach is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 11:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

I'd say get one stick of 1gb for now, and get another 1gb stick, when you have the money. If you have 1gb and a 512mb stick, they won't run in dual channel. They have to be the same size, speed, and timings.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 12:02 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 154
Default

it wouldent be bad to get the e6400 to get the extra multiplier i belive its 30 bucks more

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...ubCategory=343
raiders_best is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 12:14 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
darkop16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 553
Send a message via AIM to darkop16
Default

I would get the 2gb and an evga 7900gs, and step up to a mid range dx10 card at the end of the month or when ever you can pay the difference for the dx10 card (just remember the step-up program only has a 90 day window after purchase). A 7900gs is a good card too so you shouldn't be disappointed while waiting a little while for a dx10 card. I was playing fear, oblivion, and bf2 on high settings at 1280x1024 with the 7900gs so its a pretty good card for the price.

And you didn't need to start a new thread for the newegg/tax problem. I would have just answered it in this post, if you asked here.
__________________
CPU: e6600 @ 3.2ghz
RAM: 2GB G.Skill HZ PC6400
Mobo: ASUS P5B Deluxe
GPU: Sapphire HD4870
Soundcard: Creative Labs X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
HDDs: 250GB WD + 750GB WD + 2x1TB WD
Monitor: Samsung 226BW
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 600W
Case: Cooler Master Stacker
OS: XP Professional SP3
Mouse/keyboard: Logitech MX518/Saitek Eclipse II
Speakers: Logitech Z-2300
darkop16 is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 12:16 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Higach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Illinois
Posts: 176
Send a message via AIM to Higach
Default

is it worth the extra 30 bucks for the 6300vs6400? i was thinking about that
__________________

__________________

Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.2 GHz
Zalman 9500 HSF
BIOSTAR Tforce 965PT
eVGA 7950gt 512MB @ 590/740
3x1GB G.Skill DDR2 800 PC2 6400
Western Digital 160GB 7200RPM 16mb Cache
KINGWIN sk-523
Fortorn Source FSP 400W
Higach is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.