++ My Bottle Neck? ++ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-25-2006, 10:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 226
Default ++ My Bottle Neck? ++

Hi everyone, I'm just wondering what my bottle neck is? I still feel like im not getting the performance I was expecting, Maybe its just me, but please I need some help!

- My specs.

AMD 3200+ CPU - Zalman-7700 Fan
eVga 7900gt KO Video Card - Zalman VF900 Fan
x2 1gb G.Skill Ram 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (Timing 2.5-3-3-6)
Samsung HDD 250gb 7200rpm
Abit Kn8 Motherboard
Windows Xp Pro.


Ps. I dont know how to overclock or vmod anything so Im just going to stick with stock settings. Also would my CPU really make that big of a difference in performance? Will it make or break my system? What can I do to get better performance if any?
__________________

Jayvon is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 10:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

how about you tell us what games you are playing and at what settings, plus describe the performance preferably including a reading from Fraps then we can help if there is a problem
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 10:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

Didn't you post a thread just like this a few days ago?
__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 10:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 226
Default

No I did not post a thread like this a few days ago.

The games I am playing is Battlefield 2, World of warcraft, Dark Messiah Demo.

In BF2 and Dark Messiah it seems to lag it certain areas? (Gets real choppy for a good 5-10 seconds then goes back to normal?)

Ive always imaged to have a system like this and run every game flawlessly?

It could just be me though...
__________________
AMD X2 4200 + Zalman 9500
Asus A8R32 MVP Deluxe Motherboard
eVga 7900Gt Ko + Vf700 @ 600/1620
SB X-Fi XtremeMusic + Klipsch PM 5.1
Thermaltake ToughPower 750w Modular
Seagate Barracude SataIII 250Gb
Samsung/Lite On Dvd/Cd RW
NEC 20WMGX 20\'1 WideScreen
Logitech G15
Logitech Mx518
ThermalTake Tsunami Case

http://s141.photobucket.com/albums/r58/lvlarvin/
Jayvon is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 10:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

If anything it'd be your CPU.

BTW, you're right. It was Saint71 who posted a thread like this. Similar specs too, that's why i got confused. http://techist.com/showthread.php?s=...ght=bottleneck
__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 11:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 213
Default

lol i was thinking the same thing dajavu...ne way... Saint71 was having same problem and he had same cpu...so common sense would tell me cpu... but i could be wrong...
__________________
www.outotune.com
MSI P6N SLI-FI NForce 650i
E6300
2x1gigs 667mhz OCZ
36gb Raptor
80gig SATA Hitachi HD
500gb Seagate 32mb Cache HD
EVGA 8800GT SC 512mb
Ultra X2 X-connect 550w PSU
ProView 22" 1680x1050
BuddyRo is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 11:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

well my guess is either HDD or memory lag to be honest. the fact that it is choppy for a short period of time and then clears up is consistent with loading although as the others pointed out cpu is entirely possible. i don't really think it is something to be concerned about unless it is quite frequent.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 12:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Nope, no bottleneck here.
The General is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 12:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

are you maxing out resolution, detail, and eyecandy? because i'm pretty sure that system won't handle that.
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 02:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

dark messiah demo... i laugh at, that game is maxed out easily... but bf2, now that may give you some problems, i still get occassional hickups in that game at full quality, only for a second though.. i can't really understand why it would be doing that... dark messiah runs off of source.. so i would imagine it would run as gravy like as cs... but then again, its a demo, could be crappily optimized, and now that i think about it, there was one part where it lagged out a bit.. at the stairs at the very end of the demo, where you fall down... it paused up a bit on me, is that where you froze up?

and as for bf2... if your maxing that out... that could be why, with the 7900gt i would suggest 2xAA, High Filerter, and maybe 80-90 view distance.. or if the view distance is important 2xaa medium filtering, and 100 distance
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.