My 1st build - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-16-2008, 01:02 PM   #21 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: My 1st build

Well, my case ran me $155

Still, compared to Veedubfreaks, it's pocket change, His mountain mods cube ran him something like $300.
__________________

__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 10-17-2008, 01:29 AM   #22 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 32
Default Re: My 1st build

Well I started at 10:00 PM after I got home from work. My poor dog went on the shortest walk of his life lol. I finished up at 12:30 AM. The whole time im pretty confident in what I was building. Then It came time to plug in the powersupply to the wall outlet.

Nervous'ness.

plugged it in and everything worked!! no DOA's! no "static electricity"! just plain computin power.

Thank you forums, I am SOOOO happy right now!


ps. have not checked to see if usb works.
I wondered into BIOS and i think my CPU speed is lower then it should be. I have no idea why. Other then that no problems.

WILL POST PICS SOON
__________________

igame is offline  
Old 10-17-2008, 01:41 AM   #23 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: My 1st build

Congrats.

Welcome to the Fraternity.
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 10-17-2008, 02:13 AM   #24 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 78
Default Re: My 1st build

Quote:
Originally Posted by igame View Post
Well I started at 10:00 PM after I got home from work. My poor dog went on the shortest walk of his life lol. I finished up at 12:30 AM. The whole time im pretty confident in what I was building. Then It came time to plug in the powersupply to the wall outlet.

Nervous'ness.

plugged it in and everything worked!! no DOA's! no "static electricity"! just plain computin power.

Thank you forums, I am SOOOO happy right now!


ps. have not checked to see if usb works.
I wondered into BIOS and i think my spu speed is lower then it should be. I have no idea why. Other then that no problems.

WILL POST PICS SOON
Yea if your having problems with your CPU not representing the speed it should let us know. That goes for memory settings and everything. We can help ya out.
MrLoLeR is offline  
Old 10-17-2008, 03:25 AM   #25 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: My 1st build

if its like 2999mhz instead of like 3ghz dw, the speeds is rounded up by intel.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 10-17-2008, 01:28 PM   #26 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 32
Default Re: My 1st build

Problem: Bios reads the CPU as 2.8 Ghz but when windows boots up it recognizes the Cpu at its proper speed of 3.16. I want to make sure I am getting the performance for which I paid.

The clock should be
333 x 9.5 (stock) @ 1.225 stock voltage, I belive.

Ok, so after some careful searching I found two Solutions.

#1. "The chip supports C1E/Speedstep as well, which allows the chip to clock itself down to 2.0 GHz (6x multiplier) when processing levels are low. When processing loads kick up, the chip runs at 3.16 GHz (9.5x multiplier). Some new motherboards donít support the .5x multipliers by default, which is the cause of most boards needing a BIOS update. If your motherboard doesnít support half-step multipliers, the chip will boot up and run at 3.0 GHz (9.0x), which will allow you to get running and obtain a BIOS update"
^-source from hothardware.com (not sure if I can post other websites in this forum or not)

#2.I can disable the EIST in bios. Which is some kind of powersaving feature. Not sure of any adverse affects from this.

If anyone knows anything about this please chime in.

Thanks forum members! you guys are the best!
igame is offline  
Old 10-17-2008, 02:43 PM   #27 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: My 1st build

As long as the speed is correct in windows your getting exactly what you paid for.
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 10-17-2008, 03:32 PM   #28 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: My 1st build

Quote:
Originally Posted by igame View Post
Problem: Bios reads the CPU as 2.8 Ghz but when windows boots up it recognizes the Cpu at its proper speed of 3.16. I want to make sure I am getting the performance for which I paid.

The clock should be
333 x 9.5 (stock) @ 1.225 stock voltage, I belive.

Ok, so after some careful searching I found two Solutions.

#1. "The chip supports C1E/Speedstep as well, which allows the chip to clock itself down to 2.0 GHz (6x multiplier) when processing levels are low. When processing loads kick up, the chip runs at 3.16 GHz (9.5x multiplier). Some new motherboards donít support the .5x multipliers by default, which is the cause of most boards needing a BIOS update. If your motherboard doesnít support half-step multipliers, the chip will boot up and run at 3.0 GHz (9.0x), which will allow you to get running and obtain a BIOS update"
^-source from hothardware.com (not sure if I can post other websites in this forum or not)

#2.I can disable the EIST in bios. Which is some kind of powersaving feature. Not sure of any adverse affects from this.

If anyone knows anything about this please chime in.

Thanks forum members! you guys are the best!
Yes you can dissable this but it will make the processor stay at a higher clock speed and use more power. although it doesnt really matter if you have it or dont have it. having it turned off wont affect your PC. Like when you boot up a game. your CPU will kick its clock speed up to whats on the box. You can also see this by running orthos and using a CPUz to check theclock speed. CPUz will show you your current clock speed. and if you do anything thats CPU intensive your computer will jump up to its higher multi.

No problem iGame, its what we're here for and we love doing it.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 10-18-2008, 12:23 AM   #29 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 32
Default Re: My 1st build

Is Speed fan accurate to measure cpu temps?

Or should I use something like SANDRA (SiSoftware Zone

Or just check bios?
igame is offline  
Old 10-18-2008, 01:09 AM   #30 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: My 1st build

Any of the above are reliable sources for accurate temps.
__________________

__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help me build system on Q6600? yexusbeliever New Systems | Building and Buying 5 01-26-2008 12:34 AM
Budget build in a few months Drizzt System Upgrades 4 01-09-2008 12:56 PM
Super Budget Build - How does it sound to you? spikoman69 New Systems | Building and Buying 31 01-07-2008 10:43 PM
1st build, high end pc, non-gamer ksmart New Systems | Building and Buying 14 11-04-2007 05:51 PM
Computer Building Tutorials (videos)... first build OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 5 07-15-2007 12:18 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.