Multitasking - dissapointment with AMD venice - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-17-2005, 10:06 AM   #11 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

^ i dont see no reason why not!
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 09-17-2005, 01:13 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 765
Default

Ohhhh I want to overclock my Venice 3000+ now!!!

With MSI D.O.T. I can get it to about 2ghz, but I'm afraid something is going to happen =(

Will this all work on my stock cooler? Average case temps are 38-40 degrees celcius with my sonata II + 92mm fan blowing on the stock cooler
__________________

septoid2 is offline  
Old 09-17-2005, 03:13 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

you can get 2.2 with stock man. only 2.0 1.8 to 2.0 WoW lol. anyways GO FURTHER MAN. dont use the dot, do it yourself
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-17-2005, 03:23 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

You got almost an identical setup to me Chankama, except I have a 3200+...mind you looking back, I really should have just saved that 50 bucks and gotten the 3000+

You probably should have avoided the Rev2s since like me you probably are stuck with second rate tcc5s which are nothing like the real rev2s from before

I maxed mine at 270Mhz I'm pretty sure and my processor pretty well maxed at 2.85GHz which is kinda bad considering I got one of the good week15s
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 09-17-2005, 03:55 PM   #15 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Chankama, I'd say you can get atleast 2.5GHz with that. Put a divider on the memory and find out what the max is.
Flanker is offline  
Old 09-18-2005, 04:30 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

lol yeah. I heard that people can get to 2.4 GHz comfortably. 2.6 seems too much though. I guess it really depends on the luck of the draw. I'll probably push it to the max and then revert back to 60% of the overclock just to ensure good stability. I do a **** load of number crunching, and don't want any "errors"...

Gaara: yeah man. They are no TCCD. But I've heard that some people on bleedingedge got over 300 MHz on the TCC5s. But, again, I guess it's the luck of the draw. hmmm.. 270 MHz eh?.. I guess u got one of the poor ones.. ..
Chankama is offline  
Old 09-18-2005, 07:28 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
mind you looking back, I really should have just saved that 50 bucks and gotten the 3000+
Agreed =/

Quote:
I maxed mine at 270Mhz I'm pretty sure and my processor pretty well maxed at 2.85GHz which is kinda bad considering I got one of the good week15s
You shut that dirty whorish mouth of yours...psht 'ehh 2.85 is bad' I HATE YOU

well on a good note I found out that the RAM WAS indeed screwing over my overclock so now that lame *** 2.3GHz that wouldn't go over 1 hour 45 mins no matter what I did is now cruising smoothly...I need to hurry up, test the RAM to see if one or both sticks are bunk and RMA these sluts.

Quote:
lol yeah. I heard that people can get to 2.4 GHz comfortably. 2.6 seems too much though. I guess it really depends on the luck of the draw.
Definitely luck of the draw, I thought my week18 would be an early enough week but I'm thinking it SUCKS, however I have found out my RAM is being bastard RAM and causing the CPU to not overclock too far...the RAM isn't so bunk that it causes windows instability, but it's not running at manufacturer specd timings at specd speeds, not to mention I can't loosen Cas latency...go figure LOOSENING a cas latency gives you BSODs


Quote:
Gaara: yeah man. They are no TCCD. But I've heard that some people on bleedingedge got over 300 MHz on the TCC5s. But, again, I guess it's the luck of the draw. hmmm.. 270 MHz eh?.. I guess u got one of the poor ones..
TCCDs seem to have a better 'average' of hitting good scores, whereas TCC5s it's like hit or miss.

Patriot still better be using TCCD with brainpower PCB...I'm gonna be pissed if they RMA me ram with TCC5s........unless they do a miraculous never before seen ddr800 speeds then I GUESS I'll be happy
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.