multiple OSs in multiple harddrives - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-20-2007, 10:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 63
Default multiple OSs in multiple harddrives

i am currently making a gaming pc, and with it im getting a new harddrive. but, i want to keep my old harddrive. i read some posts here and on other forums about multi-booting. but most of them either weren't very helpful or only had to do with partitions.

the harddrive i have right now has Windows XP on it, and the one i dont have yet will have Windows Vista(Ultimate or Premium). so, how would i theoretically go about multi-booting these OSs? do i just plug both in and it will magically work? i doubt it.... but who knows?

and one site, i read that the older OS had to be the first harddrive. so, if i plug my XP harddrive into my SATA1 port of my power supply, and the Vista harddrive into the SATA2 port of my power supply, will this work?
__________________

jasonhtml is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 10:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default

you can probably just install vista on the new drive and change the boot setting in the bios whenever you want to boot from a different disk.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 10:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default

make the first harddrive have two partitions about 40gb or half of the full harddrive and install vista on the new partition then use a dual boot program like grub to have a quick menu pop up each time you boot I've only don't this with Linux but it should work fine with vista and xp. I would not recommend getting vista until the first service pack is released which will probably be the summer.

Matt
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 06:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 63
Default

i guess i didn't make myself clear enough:

i want to have both harddrives and i dont want to partition any of them. i was just wondering if anyone knew how to do what i was asking and if they could help me.

btw, i asked my friend how to do this, and he told me this:
for my XP harddrive to work with my new pc, it has to be reinstalled(im not sure why, but he said something about hardware changes cause an OS to have problems and that i cant just insert my old drive into my new PC), so, first, i would have to install Vista on the new harddrive that im getting, transfer my files from the XP harddrive to the Vista harddrive using my new pc, while running Vista, so that XP isnt actually running, then reinstall the XP harddrive with XP again.

can someone confirm this? sorry if it is hard to understand.
jasonhtml is offline  
Old 02-21-2007, 06:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 63
Default

anyone?
jasonhtml is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 02:51 AM   #6 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default

Your making it too complicated you can just install them on seperate hardrives no problem but if you are rebuilding the hardware yes you will need to reinstall xp

Matt
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 10:00 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 63
Default

how am i making it complicated? you said what i just described, really...
jasonhtml is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 10:12 AM   #8 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default

but i used less words lol
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 10:41 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 63
Default

ok, lol. well, the last thing i need to know is which OS to install first. Vista first, then XP, right? so that it will give me the choice of which to boot off of?
jasonhtml is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 11:00 AM   #10 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default

I didnt know vista had automatic bootloader installed. I would use a third party one just in case such as "grub" is effective and simple.

Matt
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.