Multiple Motherboards - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-08-2009, 03:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
Default Multiple Motherboards

I was wondering if anyone could give me some advice on hooking up multiple motherboards together I heard it is possible and wish to incorp. it into to a computer that I am custom building for myself. I am trying to build my very own (note: for lack of a better term) Super Computer. I already have away to power it and cool it just having trouble on getting multiple Motherboards to set aside their pride and work together. lol
__________________

Urathear is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 03:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Snake91839's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 471
Default Re: Multiple Motherboards

I am sure it can be done, but running as a practical setup... I'm not sure. Because there is no declared standard for multiple motherboards like there are for multiple CPUs or Video Cards.
__________________

Snake91839 is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 03:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: Multiple Motherboards

Ah ok guess I'll have to do a lot of trial and error
Urathear is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 04:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Multiple Motherboards

...what?

Forgetting the fact that this isn't practical in ANY way shape or form, what possible reason would you need something like this?
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 05:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: Multiple Motherboards

Are you talking about clustering?
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 05:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Multiple Motherboards

You can't hook multiple motherboards together and even if you could the number of cases that support more than one motherboard can be counted on one hand.
You can (or could) buy a personal super computer from Tyan, a deskside development system from siCortex Deskside Development System | Products | SiCortex (still doesn't use multiple motherboards) or something from IBM.

EDIT: that or your own cluster like Saxon said.
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 05:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Snake91839's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 471
Default Re: Multiple Motherboards

And how do you plan on hooking the boards together, as there is no data bus capable of data transmission between two motherboards.
Snake91839 is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 07:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Worcestershire, England
Posts: 556
Send a message via MSN to Sheepykins
Default Re: Multiple Motherboards

i was about to say before i read snakes post, theres no way you'd be able to hook two together, you'd need some kind of giant circuit board.

plus whats the benefit of two? usually its more processing power, but was we have chips with multiple cores now it doesnt really matter
Sheepykins is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 07:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: Multiple Motherboards

Quote:
Originally Posted by kmote View Post
and even if you could the number of cases that support more than one motherboard can be counted on one hand.
That's put a thought in my head, would a full tower like my HAF be able to fit two mATX mobos? Obviously not with the rear I/Os facing the right way and such.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 09:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: Multiple Motherboards

lol I never said it was 1 gonna be easy, 2 gonna seem or be practical. However that in which I plan to do is go and reprogram each motherboard to handle certain tasks taking like 15-20 Motherboards, (yes I know it sounds stupid and moronic) however what it is I am aiming for is not a bunch of motherboards all doing the same thing but a bunch reprogramed motherboards doing separate tasks between each other programed to process its own designated information funnel it into another area of the motherboard to be put together like normal increasing processing power (hopefully) 150% if not 100x more than that. Maybe I am wrong and just find out I wasted a ton of money for a failure.
__________________

Urathear is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASUS Motherboards World's First to Support Windows 7 RC Osiris New Technology and Products 0 05-05-2009 02:20 PM
ASUS Motherboards Now Support AMD AM3 Processors Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 11-24-2008 07:09 PM
SLI + Dual Monitors WORKS.... Black Falcon 921 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 03-22-2008 10:34 AM
Hardware Shopping, New Harddrives and Motherboards yaminohaka New Systems | Building and Buying 33 07-25-2007 06:37 PM
Gigabyte United Preps DDR3 Motherboards maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 05-01-2007 08:50 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.