Multiple Monitors on a HD 6870 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-27-2012, 07:23 AM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 24
Default

Oh how is it worse? :$
I was looking at some of the need for speeds, cod, & what ever else TPB has to offer
__________________

Rizz. is offline  
Old 03-27-2012, 08:24 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 24
Default Re: Multiple Monitors on a HD 6870

Somebody explain this then?
__________________

Rizz. is offline  
Old 03-27-2012, 09:27 AM   #13 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default Re: Multiple Monitors on a HD 6870

We never said it wouldn't do it, but rather said it would not be enough power to play todays top end games with decent frame rates. IE, Battlefield 3, Metro 2033, Dirt 3, ect.

The first game he played was the first Dirt. DirectX 10 game and you cold probably do Eyefinity with a 5850 on that game.
Second game, Modern Warfare 2. Based on the overly used and very old CoD engine, yea, shouldn't have to say more. With that being said, I'm not sure if it's the video (probably) but it looks like he isn't using max settings.
I never played Batman, so can't comment on it.
Torchlight, older DX9 based RPG with low system requirements. Again, nothing more to say.

So basically what he did was demoed a bunch of low end games playing on a few big TVs showcasing a card that has relative performance around that of a 5870. Lets put it this way, in triple monitor Eyefinity on BF3 a 7970 stock has to do medium settings with no AA to get between 50 and 60fps. If you want to play older games that support this or want to play higher graphics games on low settings then sure go ahead and get this card. We are simply saying, it isn't enough horsepower to run 3 monitors and have all the pretties turned up.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 03-27-2012, 02:08 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 24
Default

Oh, cheers mate, helped me a lot
Rizz. is offline  
Old 03-27-2012, 02:13 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
GhOsT1321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 804
Default Re: Multiple Monitors on a HD 6870

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rizz. View Post
Oh how is it worse? :$
I was looking at some of the need for speeds, cod, & what ever else TPB has to offer
It is a higher end model than a 7770
The first letter is the generation, and the last 3 are the performance indicators.
For example a 6850 is from the 6xxx series of AMD cards. It is a part of the 800 series due to the second 8 and is a 50 in terms of performance.
A 6950 is more powerful than a 6850. A 6870 is more powerful than a 6850.
The second digit is most important, with the last two digits being second most important.
The first digit represents the series. Each series will have different characteristics. For example, in low tessellation games, a 5850 will outperform a 6850. If the game includes tessellation, then the 6850 will usually outperform a 5850.
Nothing is 100% concrete as there are multiple variables to consider.

Edit:Expect spelling errors. I miss firefox with spell check
__________________
Build to be updated, a reminder to myself.
GhOsT1321 is offline  
Old 03-27-2012, 04:29 PM   #16 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default Re: Multiple Monitors on a HD 6870

I think comparing a 5850 to a 6850 is a bit confusing to the end user because the 8 is high end in the 5 series and 8 is midrange in the 6 series.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
6870 crossfire and dual monitors KoF Ripsaw Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 10-10-2011 05:02 PM
Multiple graphics cards/multiple monitors Gooch System Upgrades 4 02-11-2007 01:50 PM
Multiple monitors on one PC jbc Microsoft Windows and Software 1 06-09-2006 02:59 PM
multiple monitors in xp tadpolefoder Overclocking and Modding 15 03-21-2006 07:23 AM
multiple monitors fitzjj Linux and Open Source 2 10-26-2005 02:51 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.