Multi monitor rig - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-08-2011, 11:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 466
Default Multi monitor rig

Hey guys,

I am going to be building a multi monitor rig (6 to 8 monitors) sometime over the course of the year. Since im not building the computer now I wont bother you guys with any questions about that since its pretty much pointless since **** changes so fast. What I was wondering however is what kind of monitors would you all suggest, I am looking for something with super high res since I need as much screen real estate as I can get. I am looking at a 22 to 24 inch size screen unless you all think it is better to go bigger or smaller.

Thanks in advance
__________________

__________________


Thermaltake Armor
680i LT
q6600 (g0 revision)
736 mb EVGA 8800 GTX
2 gb crucial tracers
500 gb seagate 7200.11
TRUE 120
PC Power & Cooling 610
and a run of the mill DVD drive
heister is offline  
Old 04-08-2011, 02:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Multi monitor rig

For video cards I would recommend Eyefinity 6 edition 5870's or whatever their 6xxx equivalent is, each card can push 6 monitors with DisplayPort or active adapters. If you need to push 8 monitors you can get two of these cards.

As for monitors I would definitely go 1080p or higher but the size depends on where you want to set them up.
__________________

__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 04-08-2011, 02:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 466
Default Re: Multi monitor rig

Thanks, I am doing currency trading so I need lots of space for my charts and what not. With windows 7 I shouldnt need any special software to extend the display on to multiple monitors from multiple gpus, right?
__________________


Thermaltake Armor
680i LT
q6600 (g0 revision)
736 mb EVGA 8800 GTX
2 gb crucial tracers
500 gb seagate 7200.11
TRUE 120
PC Power & Cooling 610
and a run of the mill DVD drive
heister is offline  
Old 04-17-2011, 06:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: Multi monitor rig

Quote:
Originally Posted by heister View Post
With windows 7 I shouldnt need any special software to extend the display on to multiple monitors from multiple gpus, right?
Asides from the GPU drivers, nope.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 04-18-2011, 08:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: SA, Australia
Posts: 90
Default Re: Multi monitor rig

Quote:
Originally Posted by CalcProgrammer1 View Post
As for monitors I would definitely go 1080p or higher but the size depends on where you want to set them up.
If the monitors are being used purely for word processing and not gaming, 1080p is a bit overkill is it? Wouldn't using a smaller resolution help? How decent to pie charts need to look?

@Heister: are you going to be able to track everything over 6 or 8 screens? I would think 3 or 4 maybe 5 would be the max I could physically use efficienctly. Anything more than that and I'm compensating for something . I'd be impressed if you can efficiently use that many!
-Tenk- is offline  
Old 04-18-2011, 09:30 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: Multi monitor rig

I have a 1080p monitor, it makes stuff like Word, Publisher etc. MUCH easier to use, since you can fit more on the page - Word is especially good since you can have two pages side-by-side, while still able to read and edit both perfectly. And lol, how would having a smaller resolution be better?

And lol, he'll be using it for a lot more than pie charts if he's doing currency trading (which is one of the more ignorant things I've read on here). Think more along the lines of a giant chart (not a pie chart) on each screen tracking several currencies' ups and Downs in relation to each other.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 04-18-2011, 11:56 AM   #7 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Multi monitor rig

if you wanna go with a 24" go with a 1920x1200 resolution monitor, not 1080p, that extra 120 vertical pixels can add a lot of real estate. The other option would be to bump up to a 30" which runs at 2560x1600.

If you threw down for 6 24" monitors in a 3x2 configuration that would give you a usable 5740x2400 resolution. the only problem that you might run into is the bezel's. they're usually a half inch to inch wide which would be pretty annoying in the middle of a chart or graph.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 04-18-2011, 03:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
 
Night Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default Re: Multi monitor rig

Another option might be just a large TV...that would eliminate the bezel problem and there wouldn't be the problem of having to put the monitors on a rack/wall, or however you're planning on doing it.
__________________
Asus P5Q Motherboard * OC'ed Intel Core2 Quad Q9400 2.82ghz w/ Arctic Silver 5 * OCZ Platinum 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066ghz * Kingston Hyper X (2x2gb) DDR2 1066ghz * EVGA GTX 560 Ti Superclocked * Ultra X-Blaster ATX Mid-Tower * OCZ Vertex 2 120gb * WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 rpm * OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU * Sony Optaric DVD Burner * Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit * 22" LG Flatron W2252TQ LCD * LG Flatron E2281

Samsung Series 7 17.3" Laptop w/ 256gb Vertex 4 SSD
Night Fox is offline  
Old 04-18-2011, 04:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: Multi monitor rig

Quote:
Originally Posted by Night Fox View Post
Another option might be just a large TV...that would eliminate the bezel problem and there wouldn't be the problem of having to put the monitors on a rack/wall, or however you're planning on doing it.
The only bad thing about that is the limited resolution that would be achieved. With One big t.v, you're still only going to be able to fit the same amount of windows/programs on it, as you would a smaller monitor with the same resolution. With a 3x2 setup, you can have 6 times the amount of space a normal large t.v. would provide. Yeah, it's a smaller monitor, but it still has the same amount of space on it for the desktop.
__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 04-18-2011, 04:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
 
Night Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default Re: Multi monitor rig

Ah, I see..
__________________

__________________
Asus P5Q Motherboard * OC'ed Intel Core2 Quad Q9400 2.82ghz w/ Arctic Silver 5 * OCZ Platinum 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066ghz * Kingston Hyper X (2x2gb) DDR2 1066ghz * EVGA GTX 560 Ti Superclocked * Ultra X-Blaster ATX Mid-Tower * OCZ Vertex 2 120gb * WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 rpm * OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU * Sony Optaric DVD Burner * Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit * 22" LG Flatron W2252TQ LCD * LG Flatron E2281

Samsung Series 7 17.3" Laptop w/ 256gb Vertex 4 SSD
Night Fox is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
multi monitor set up 9800gt New Systems | Building and Buying 9 07-15-2010 01:05 AM
multi-monitor Nizzle1 Laptops and Notebooks 9 04-09-2010 04:44 PM
Multi monitor help Easyramzi New Systems | Building and Buying 19 11-18-2008 10:37 AM
Multi-monitor Taskbar Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 5 01-08-2008 08:03 PM
LCD Multi Monitor Stand ChiliPalmer Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 06-09-2007 12:50 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.