Multi monitor help - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-21-2008, 05:15 AM   #11 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Multi monitor help

Quote:
Don't listen to anyone else unless they meet the basic qualifications I am giving you here.

A: I have been using Microsoft flight sim for 10 years.
B: I have been using multi-monitors with flight sim for 7 years.
C: I am a member of VATSIM and have logged thousands of sim hours.
D: I regularly build my own PC's
E: I use a multitude of various sim-specific software that helps accomplish my goals for advanced flight simulation.
F: I have done a disgustingly large amount of research and homework to accomplish the goal of an 8-10 screen home flight simulator.
G: I have written two books, soon to be released, on building your own home cockpit, and how to build an advanced home based flight sim.
H: I have a fully enclosed two seat home simulator that I built for less than $1,000 in materials and PC's for about $1,500 each, 8 20" widescreen LCD's for $200 each, and a high quality DLP projector for $700.
I: My sim station can quickly be separated into 5 main parts each of which will fit through a 30" doorway.

If you aren't a troll this vomit is better than Norcent's.

Totally my new sig.
__________________

__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 10-21-2008, 10:12 AM   #12 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Multi monitor help

Is the setup that you have atm not working for you or under performing?


Edit: Have you bought the setup that i linked for you or are you still using the pre built computer?
__________________

__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 10-21-2008, 10:38 AM   #13 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: Multi monitor help

Quote:
Originally Posted by SimSamurai View Post
Don't listen to anyone else unless they meet the basic qualifications I am giving you here.

A: I have been using Microsoft flight sim for 10 years.
B: I have been using multi-monitors with flight sim for 7 years.
C: I am a member of VATSIM and have logged thousands of sim hours.
D: I regularly build my own PC's
E: I use a multitude of various sim-specific software that helps accomplish my goals for advanced flight simulation.
F: I have done a disgustingly large amount of research and homework to accomplish the goal of an 8-10 screen home flight simulator.
G: I have written two books, soon to be released, on building your own home cockpit, and how to build an advanced home based flight sim.
H: I have a fully enclosed two seat home simulator that I built for less than $1,000 in materials and PC's for about $1,500 each, 8 20" widescreen LCD's for $200 each, and a high quality DLP projector for $700.
I: My sim station can quickly be separated into 5 main parts each of which will fit through a 30" doorway.

As far as this topic goes.. the buck stops here kids.

I can be reached at Captannemo@earthlink.net



TWO WORDS FOLKS --- BOO YOW.

Here endeth the lesson ....... sincerely -- SIM-SAMURAI

This guys sounds like a total D-bag. But good info though.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 10-21-2008, 10:34 PM   #14 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Multi monitor help

i just want my questions answered. like, im totally curious as to how that works.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 02:43 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 122
Default Re: Multi monitor help

*clears throat*...............NERD!!!!!!!


lmao jk jk
erkster is offline  
Old 10-30-2008, 12:01 AM   #16 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Multi monitor help

typical...someone comes to the forums and is like..."IKNOWEVERYTHINGTHEREISTOKNOWABOUTTHISYOUSH OULDLISTENTOMEANDNOTTHESERETARDSBECAUSEIAM OMNISCIENT"...
and then cant answer my simple questions. i feel jilted.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 10-30-2008, 11:17 AM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 51
Send a message via AIM to HellFireRS Send a message via Yahoo to HellFireRS
Default Re: Multi monitor help

Just to chime in on the multiple monitor hook ups....Evga makes a USB adapter to add extra monitors, I use them here at work. It could get pricey if your wanting to add 5-10 My dept paid about $50 each for them. Easy to setup, and as long as you have a free USB port, you can keep adding the Evga USB Monitor adapter. Its easy as pie to set up and manage, it comes with a nice utility to customize how you want your multiple monitors to project your screen.

We got it through ebuyer.
__________________
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v1...ignature-1.jpg
3dMark06 = 12954 3d Marks
HellFireRS is offline  
Old 11-18-2008, 01:15 AM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: Multi-monitor help / Setting up a Multi-Screen Computer

Here is a great tutorial I found at Multi-Screens.com (A beginners introduction to Multiple Monitors)

The Three main ways to Setup Multiple Monitors

1) You can buy a pre-manufactured multiple monitor computer. The best place to purchase a multiple monitor computer is at:
SUPER-PC. They carry a multi-monitor computer line called SUPER-PC that can support from 2 to 12 monitors.

Multi-Screen Computer Systems

Multiple Monitor LCD Displays

2) You can get a USB to VGA Adapter, or USB to DVI Adapter that will allow you to add an extra monitor to your computer
via any USB2.0 Port. You can also add multiple extra monitors by using multiple adapters. This is a great option for viewing
documents, surfing the web, using Microsoft Office and many other business tasks. This is not a good option for intense
graphical situations such as HDTV, Blu-ray, Gaming and 3D / CAD Workstation applications. For those types of scenarios,
it is highly recommended that you purchase a high-powered multi-monitor workstation or a Matrox Dual or Triple Head2Go.

Multiple Monitor Adapters

3) You can replace or add an extra video card to your existing computer, depending on how many monitors you wish to support.
Although this sounds easy enough, this is a rather complex solution for a beginner, especially when trying to find a compatible
graphics card. For this reason, I am going to write an entirely seperate post on that topic and will link to it here, very soon.

Multi-Monitor Graphics Cards

Once you have your multiple monitor system set up and ready to use, you will need to enable all of your monitors in
your ďDisplay PropertiesĒ Control Panel. Here is a great link to a complete and animated walkthrough of how to enable
your multiple monitors in Windows.

How to Setup Multiple Monitors (Instructions)

This is what it will look like when you are done:


techgeek276 is offline  
Old 11-18-2008, 01:27 AM   #19 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Multi monitor help

thats what im talkin about. good find.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 11-18-2008, 10:37 AM   #20 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Multi monitor help

Evga makes them for 1/3rd the price on newegg, and can be stacked upto 6.

Newegg.com - evga uv plus
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multi Booting.. What to install first? Kdar Linux and Open Source 3 04-28-2008 08:23 PM
LG super multi dvd drive problems!!! fyrfytr71 Laptops and Notebooks 3 04-16-2008 11:13 PM
Insurgency Beta Out Now (HL2 Multi Mod) BennyV04988 PC Gaming 4 07-11-2007 09:13 PM
Multi Booting slashnmash Linux and Open Source 1 06-20-2007 04:03 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.