MSI or Asus Mobo? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-17-2006, 06:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 68
Default MSI or Asus Mobo?

Hey, i'm deciding between these two mobos

ASUS A8N-E Socket 939 nForce 4

and

MSI K8N Neo4 Platinum

In your opinions, which is a better board for gaming?
I was thinking the MSI because then i can stick a couple of SATA II hard drives in their.

Thanks in advance
__________________

Curry Viking is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 07:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

personally I'd get the MSI
they've been known for good overclocking aswell
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 07:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 129
Default

hehe, Chris this thread had your name written all over itm I'm not gonna back ASUS just for the sake of doing it. DFI make an excellent board as well.
filocardhustler is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 07:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Asus's recent A8N boards have kinda redeemed Asus in my eyes, but they did have a pretty bad track record a while ago

that being said, I still recommend the MSI board. they are stable, have lots of features (including SATA II) and being a good overclocker
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 07:34 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 129
Default

I don't see why Asus is hated as much as it is, I speak from experience of owning both an ASUS mobo and GPU with no problems in either. I also admit that it's not the best board but it deserves more credit than it gets.

I agree the A8N series rock.
filocardhustler is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 07:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I'm talking about before their K8 boards. they had a pretty bad run with a lot of socket A and socket 478 boards.
I think they used to use cheap capacitors which didn't last very long, but they have changed the capacitors they use now.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 08:28 AM   #7 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default

DFI
__________________
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 12:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

MSI. I'm running one right now very happily. I think they loaded the platinum bios onto my motherboard or something. The overclocking features are endless.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.