Motherboard for work computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-11-2008, 08:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Motherboard for work computer

Hey guys, I'm going to install windows XP on my dad's work computer, cause he has been using 2000 and been reluctant to change until now. I've decided it would be best to upgrade to a better mobo cause he has a pretty crap intel one now.

The thing is, he doesnt need a overclocking one, nor a gaming one. He needs a really reliable one with good driver support etc.

Here are the specs his pc has:

E6300
Nvidia quadro FX370
2GB 800Mhz ram
2x200GB Barracudas
Acer 24" widescreen

He uses it for CAD and the like. I think he would like to keep the price down, probably around the $150-200 Australian (~$100-150 US) mark, however, if there was a definate benifit i could convince him to pay extra.

Any suggestions?
__________________

__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 05-11-2008, 09:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Motherboard for work computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by meat_helmet View Post
The thing is, he doesnt need a overclocking one, nor a gaming one. He needs a really reliable one with good driver support etc.
Heh for 100 USD the majority of the mobos you will find are overclockers and gaming ones. The majority of the new boards just naturually overclock decent becuase of how well of an overclocker the chipsets are.

This is always a good board regardless of who you are
Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards

You can go cheaper really such as the P31
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 05-11-2008, 10:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: Motherboard for work computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sora View Post
Heh for 100 USD the majority of the mobos you will find are overclockers and gaming ones. The majority of the new boards just naturually overclock decent becuase of how well of an overclocker the chipsets are.

This is always a good board regardless of who you are
Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards

You can go cheaper really such as the P31
Yeh i was thinking maybe the DS3L could be good, as its the same as my DS3R, without raid, and my boards been very good to me.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet connection sharing behind a router KSoD Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 03-01-2016 11:32 AM
Computer Jokes. Kharn Off Topic Discussion 8 12-19-2007 12:09 AM
How Can I Tell What Motherboard Is In My Computer? MacDaddyGator New Systems | Building and Buying 13 09-28-2007 02:17 PM
Serious computer problem. HeeRoMaKi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 71 07-28-2007 11:42 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.