motherboard wont fit the case - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-28-2007, 11:34 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
siddanth3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: manchester, NH
Posts: 395
Default Re: motherboard wont fit the case

i think the ds3 supports my ram. not 100% sure, but pretty sure, coz my ram is ddr2 533. i'll just be using this mobo with my current rig for a while, and then upgrade to quad core.
oh so i can use that hsf. coz i thought there was a difference, some 90mm chip or some 60 mm chip. i dk.
well thanks anyways
i asked the same question a long time ago, but i wanted a different mobo back then
would a ddr2 533 work on a motherboard that supports ddr2 800??????
__________________

__________________
Antec 900
P4 prescott @3ghz HT 775
ViewSonic 20.1" lcd display + Samsung SyncMaster 2253
Corsair 2x512mb ddr2 533
FoxConn M7VMX-K LGA 775
FPS 400watt
WD 640 GB + WD 320 GB
Western Digital My Book 320gb
Evga 7900 GS
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech Navigation Keyboard
Razer Diamondback Plasma Blue
siddanth3 is offline  
Old 05-28-2007, 11:43 PM   #12 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: motherboard wont fit the case

OHH YOUR RAM IS DDR2!!! No the 90 and 65mm is what is the size of the "die" on the chip. It is not the actual chip itself. The actual ability to fit a heatsink on a chip comes from what socket it is. So if your P4 is Socket 775, and a C2D is Socket 775 then the C2D HSF will fit onto your P4.


Ok well then this makes things so much easier. Here's the game plan for you I suggest hah.

Buy a new mobo that supports C2D ( P6N, DS3, P5B-Plus, P5N-E, P6N Platinum just to name a few cheap good ones)

Get the HSF from your friend and chill with it for a while until quad-core

In July buy a Quad-Core

Then later buy a 2GB kit of DDr2-800 ram and an aftermarket HSF and overclock that bad boy. The last few options can be combined into one step heh.

That's what I would do, good luck.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 05-28-2007, 11:46 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
siddanth3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: manchester, NH
Posts: 395
Default Re: motherboard wont fit the case

thanks man, i am glad that some one understood me.
i'll try to do as u suggested, and i'll keep u posted
thanks a lot
__________________
Antec 900
P4 prescott @3ghz HT 775
ViewSonic 20.1" lcd display + Samsung SyncMaster 2253
Corsair 2x512mb ddr2 533
FoxConn M7VMX-K LGA 775
FPS 400watt
WD 640 GB + WD 320 GB
Western Digital My Book 320gb
Evga 7900 GS
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech Navigation Keyboard
Razer Diamondback Plasma Blue
siddanth3 is offline  
Old 05-29-2007, 12:36 AM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
siddanth3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: manchester, NH
Posts: 395
Default Re: motherboard wont fit the case

so do u guys think the ds3 or the pb5 or the p6n will utilize the quad to its full potential. i mean are there certain mobos that are available to us right now will utilize quad to its fullest. will therebe any mobo that will, or is there one already.
any suggestions and comments. i was planing to get p6n, but now i am wondering if i could get the full quad experience with that mobo. and by that i mean, only the mobo performance, not applications and games, and other parts
thanks a lot
__________________
Antec 900
P4 prescott @3ghz HT 775
ViewSonic 20.1" lcd display + Samsung SyncMaster 2253
Corsair 2x512mb ddr2 533
FoxConn M7VMX-K LGA 775
FPS 400watt
WD 640 GB + WD 320 GB
Western Digital My Book 320gb
Evga 7900 GS
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech Navigation Keyboard
Razer Diamondback Plasma Blue
siddanth3 is offline  
Old 05-29-2007, 08:20 AM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: ...
Posts: 474
Default Re: motherboard wont fit the case

never never never never never upgrade with del, there soul purpose is to make upgrading ure pc hard, their so auquard its unreal, nothing is the same on there mobos..so your just gonna have to buy a new mobo sorry mate
khan008 is offline  
Old 05-29-2007, 06:23 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
siddanth3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: manchester, NH
Posts: 395
Default Re: motherboard wont fit the case

thanks guys. i'll just upgrade to a new mobo. thanks for the help
__________________
Antec 900
P4 prescott @3ghz HT 775
ViewSonic 20.1" lcd display + Samsung SyncMaster 2253
Corsair 2x512mb ddr2 533
FoxConn M7VMX-K LGA 775
FPS 400watt
WD 640 GB + WD 320 GB
Western Digital My Book 320gb
Evga 7900 GS
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech Navigation Keyboard
Razer Diamondback Plasma Blue
siddanth3 is offline  
Old 05-29-2007, 06:43 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: motherboard wont fit the case

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sora View Post
OHH YOUR RAM IS DDR2!!! No the 90 and 65mm is what is the size of the "die" on the chip. It is not the actual chip itself. The actual ability to fit a heatsink on a chip comes from what socket it is. So if your P4 is Socket 775, and a C2D is Socket 775 then the C2D HSF will fit onto your P4.


Ok well then this makes things so much easier. Here's the game plan for you I suggest hah.

Buy a new mobo that supports C2D ( P6N, DS3, P5B-Plus, P5N-E, P6N Platinum just to name a few cheap good ones)

Get the HSF from your friend and chill with it for a while until quad-core

In July buy a Quad-Core

Then later buy a 2GB kit of DDr2-800 ram and an aftermarket HSF and overclock that bad boy. The last few options can be combined into one step heh.

That's what I would do, good luck.
omg i said that!!!!
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 01:26 AM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: motherboard wont fit the case

lol yeah just upgrade mobo
kobe24 is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 09:19 AM   #19 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: motherboard wont fit the case

by a new motherboard get c2d, come july get quad sum gskill hz and tuniq then o/c the **** outta it.

nah joking vernong
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 06-22-2007, 03:27 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
siddanth3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: manchester, NH
Posts: 395
Default Re: motherboard wont fit the case

well, i did a lot of thinking, and now i am going to wait till about september/october to build my new computer using a quad core. but i am really tempted to by the mobo right now and use it in my new case that has been sitting idle for a while. so should i get a mobo right now or should i wait, coz i dont need one, but i want one. my friends say i'm just being stupid, coz new stuff are gonna come out when i build my computer. idk what to do. what would u guys do. anycommets would be appreciated.
__________________

__________________
Antec 900
P4 prescott @3ghz HT 775
ViewSonic 20.1" lcd display + Samsung SyncMaster 2253
Corsair 2x512mb ddr2 533
FoxConn M7VMX-K LGA 775
FPS 400watt
WD 640 GB + WD 320 GB
Western Digital My Book 320gb
Evga 7900 GS
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech Navigation Keyboard
Razer Diamondback Plasma Blue
siddanth3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ram failure? or motherboard fried? adamussg Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 05-07-2007 06:13 PM
will this case fit the desired psu? siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 05-04-2007 10:41 AM
Case mod project: Wc pump/rad housing case schulz269 Overclocking and Modding 18 04-15-2007 02:00 PM
upgrading to a bigger case yellowmustard Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 04-05-2007 11:49 PM
Do I want pos / neg case pressure? Ring0 Overclocking and Modding 10 04-01-2007 08:12 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.