Motherboard vs Motherboard - OC thread - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-20-2008, 10:10 PM   #11 (permalink)
Hardware/VB.net/Anti-vir
 
StealthTools's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: TN - Intel, Samsung, and NVIDIA 4 EvR!
Posts: 515
Send a message via MSN to StealthTools
Default Re: Motherboard vs Motherboard - OC thread

OK......

SO here's what I am thinking.

I think I am going to get this:

Motherboard

ASUS Maximus Formula Intel X38 Core 2 Quad Socket 775 1600MHz PC2-9280 (DDR2-1160) ATX Motherboard Retail

ASUS Maximus Formula Intel X38 Core 2 Quad Socket 775 1600MHz PC2-9280 (DDR2-1160) ATX Motherboard R at ZipZoomfly


Price: $249.99


This motherboard seems to be alot better than the DFI LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX motherboard in terms of overclocking.

It says "crossfire ready" will this mobo work with an Nvidia 8800 GTS?


Does everyone agree that this is the one I should get, being an extreme overclocker?


ALSO


I think that this board comes with the SupremeFX II audio card thing...If this board does come with the audio card.. should I use it or my Creative Sound Blaster Fatality X-Treme gamer. I believe I should use my extreme gamer card but.. I never heard of Supreme FX before.
__________________

StealthTools is offline  
Old 03-21-2008, 12:23 AM   #12 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: Motherboard vs Motherboard - OC thread

It will work with one 8800gts however sli is not possible.

The supremeFX audio thingy is simply on board audio placed on a riser card. Definitely use your x-fi over it.
__________________

__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 03-21-2008, 01:01 AM   #13 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: Motherboard vs Motherboard - OC thread

your going to get phase cooling!? sweetness... what type of setup are you looking at?
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 03-21-2008, 01:15 PM   #14 (permalink)
Hardware/VB.net/Anti-vir
 
StealthTools's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: TN - Intel, Samsung, and NVIDIA 4 EvR!
Posts: 515
Send a message via MSN to StealthTools
Default Re: Motherboard vs Motherboard - OC thread

Cooler Express 2007 Design Super Single Evaporator CPU Cooling Unit - All Sockets (478 / 754 / 775 / 939 / 940 / AM2 / Xeon)

Price: $799.95

This is the unit my uncle told me about. He is going to provide me with his phase cooling setup - FREE!

He says it is just like the one in the link above. Originally I told him about liquid nitrogen... he wants to experiment with that now. I guess phase change will get you to about -55C less than half of what liquid nitrogen will do but it is kinda hard to get your hands on some liquid nitrogen in these parts.

ALSO:

Does anyone know of a brand of 1200MHz Overclocking RAM besides Kingston? I can't find any anywhere.. and what are your views on 1200MHz RAM?
StealthTools is offline  
Old 03-21-2008, 01:49 PM   #15 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: Motherboard vs Motherboard - OC thread

For that much you be better off having one commissioned for you on xs.
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 03-21-2008, 01:59 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Motherboard vs Motherboard - OC thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by StealthTools View Post
Does anyone know of a brand of 1200MHz Overclocking RAM besides Kingston? I can't find any anywhere.. and what are your views on 1200MHz RAM?
What does it matter?

RAM can be clocked to any speed, all you have to do is change Voltage and timmings to allow for the higher speed.

You can buy DDR2 800 and just up voltage and loosen timmings to hit any speed.

Over on hard forum there is a guy with DDR3 at 1.6 Ghz running timmings like 7-7-7-20, with like voltage of 2.5 ish.
Ste is offline  
Old 03-21-2008, 05:42 PM   #17 (permalink)
Hardware/VB.net/Anti-vir
 
StealthTools's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: TN - Intel, Samsung, and NVIDIA 4 EvR!
Posts: 515
Send a message via MSN to StealthTools
Default Re: Motherboard vs Motherboard - OC thread

I can push a Q6600 to 4GHz but it is hard.. It really isn't made for that. I don't want to have to squeeze my RAM that hard. If Crucial Ballistix 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 can run at high speeds as I hear they can I may consider getting that RAM. I don't know much about RAM in general except for the timings. Lower is tighter which is faster, and looser timings are better for overclocking and you can loosen them with the voltage you are putting to them.

On my SIG at the bottom of my posts I have my build. THE SIG DOES NOT INCLUDE PHASE COOLING..not enough characters left to put that in.

Mainly:

Does everyone agree that the rig in my SIG can run at 4GHz?
(I have phase cooling in 2 weeks )

The reason for the 4GHz is I am sick of slow junk. I see the $5,000+ Alienware Luxary systems which are $5,000 at just the stock non customized settings! They run "Overclocked" at 4GHz.

I have always wanted an Alienware but their prices are insane. I am looking to build a system that can keep up with an Alienware at 4GHz atleast if not more.

That is my goal.. gimme some feed
StealthTools is offline  
Old 03-21-2008, 05:46 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Motherboard vs Motherboard - OC thread

what about a 790i Ultra + 2gb DDR3 kit (some cheap ones on Newegg), Nosboost says these can hit 500FSB, plus you do have a Phase Change Cooler
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 03-21-2008, 05:49 PM   #19 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Motherboard vs Motherboard - OC thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by StealthTools View Post

Does anyone know of a brand of 1200MHz Overclocking RAM besides Kingston? I can't find any anywhere.. and what are your views on 1200MHz RAM?
Transcend Axeram. Hand picked micron d9's 5-5-5-15 @ 2.2v......Nasty! Thats what I'm getting after I pick up an x38 board.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste View Post
What does it matter?

RAM can be clocked to any speed, all you have to do is change Voltage and timmings to allow for the higher speed.

You can buy DDR2 800 and just up voltage and loosen timmings to hit any speed.
True but its better to get ram that you know can run that speed at a certain voltage and timing
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 03-21-2008, 06:00 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Motherboard vs Motherboard - OC thread

Theres no ganruntee even if the manufacturer states so, there are plenty of people with DDR2 800 or higher RAM that have trouble maintaining it at manufactured specs.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yak thread? nOcLuE98 Forum Admin, Announcements & Feedback 17 02-18-2008 01:45 AM
Just need help on grabbing a Motherboard Akumajin New Systems | Building and Buying 9 01-08-2008 08:36 AM
Replacing Motherboard, Help Needed Rask Vann New Systems | Building and Buying 9 11-15-2007 09:40 AM
Motherboard Questions & Help Me Find a Mobo Cunjo New Systems | Building and Buying 37 07-13-2007 01:24 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.