Motherboard or Video Card - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2007, 01:17 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

I'm annoying, lovely. I know you're not getting it, I'm just trying to convince you that it was not a good choice in the first place. When you understand that, I will stop.

The 680i motherboards were a nightmare and just started to fix their problems. That, and Newegg reviews are worthless.

There are quite a few respected motherboards, with few to no problems, in the $100-$200 range. If there are any problems, then they can be fixed for less money than would add up to the price of the eVGA 680i.
__________________

__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 08:55 AM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 238
Default

Ok whatever, can somone answer my question that if I get the 8800 GTX will my 550W PSU be sufficient for it?
__________________

xtpacygax is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 09:01 AM   #13 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default

What brand of PSU do you have?
__________________
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 10:28 AM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 238
Default

ultra x connect 2 550 W
xtpacygax is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 10:35 AM   #15 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default

That is sufficient.
__________________
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 01:24 PM   #16 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

The 680i overclock like nothing else, plus the feature set is just plain awesome. True, it had a few stumbles on launch, but they are taken care of now.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 06:47 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trotter
The 680i overclock like nothing else, plus the feature set is just plain awesome. True, it had a few stumbles on launch, but they are taken care of now.
They may "overclock like nothing else," but like I've stated before, you will run out of steam from your processor, memory, or temps before the FSB is of any use to you. Other motherboards that are half the price are just as likely as this one to hit 500+FSB, which is sort of a ridiculous FSB. Who cares if a 680i can hit 580FSB, you're never going to use that capability unless you're under liquid nitrogen on a cherry-picked chip.

Its like buying a $670,000 Ferrari Enzo, that can do well over 200MPH, but having your speed capped at 120MPH. The extra capability goes to waste, and you could get the same performance from a $25,000 Civic. Note: There is no analogy in computers for the "wear and tear" caused by running a car at high RPMs consistently.

Disclaimer: I know that the Enzo ends up costing a lot more than $670,000.
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 07:02 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 762
Send a message via AIM to Cdub89
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by xtpacygax
Ok whatever, can somone answer my question that if I get the 8800 GTX will my 550W PSU be sufficient for it?
Your a lil punk you need to relax there turbo.
__________________
<a href="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" ><img src="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" alt="View Clay Kann's Profile" border="0" /></a>
Cdub89 is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 07:16 PM   #19 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 238
Default

You won't find a Ferrari Enzo capped at 120 mph, because then it just wouldn't be a Ferrari Enzo.
xtpacygax is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 07:52 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Exactly. No one would do such a thing, would they? Well, buying an eVGA 680i is like buying an Enzo and then capping it at 120MPH. Smart? Not really.
__________________

__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.