Which motherboard to use for Conroe - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-06-2006, 09:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8
Talking Which motherboard to use for Conroe

Just a quick question... which one of these motherboards would you rather use?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813121016

or

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128018

The Intel has more PCI x16 slots, but only runs 667 DDR2 while the Gigabyte runs 800 DDR2. Is there a MB for the Conroe that is better than both of these?
__________________

assimilatedewok is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 12:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 223
Default

If heard nothing but good things about this motherboard.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131028

PLus I've always had a good experiences with ASUS. IF its in your budget I'd get this one over the Intel.
__________________

__________________
i5 3570k (OC to 4.2 mhz)
Geforce 650 Ti Boost 2gb
16 MB RAM
Windows 7
Da11en47 is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 02:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 230
Default

Umm the Intel d975Xbx runs DDR2-800, it even shows the memory running at that speed in the BIOS. Check Intel's specifications, not newegg's.

__________________
C2D E6600 @ 3.15ghz w/ 1.35 vcore
Abit AW9D-MAX
Scythe Infinity
2GB G.Skill DDR2-800 (4-4-4-12)
XFX 7600GT xXx
Silverstone Tj-06
Drizo is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 02:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 419
Send a message via AIM to Dr DMoney
Default

The intel chps don't really use the full power of the 800 actually they barly keep up with the 677. It would save you some money with geting 677. You will not notice a difference at all, compared to the 800. Also get corhair. Asus is a greaat companiy. Go for them
__________________
The start of my signature...
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/7041/sig0jc.png
Dr DMoney is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 04:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Dr DMoney
The intel chps don't really use the full power of the 800 actually they barly keep up with the 677. It would save you some money with geting 677. You will not notice a difference at all, compared to the 800. Also get corhair. Asus is a greaat companiy. Go for them
Please explain "don't use the full power of" and "barely keep up." That makes no sense at all. Also, don't forget that when OC'ing these things you can often pass 400FSB quite easily which makes the DDR2-800 RAM quite necessary.

If you have the money, the P5B Deluxe is probably the best C2D mobo out right now.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 05:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Jumping_Bean514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 752
Send a message via AIM to Jumping_Bean514
Default

Another option would be this board.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131025
__________________

Jumping_Bean514 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.