Which motherboard is right for me? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-30-2005, 04:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 223
Send a message via AIM to nezzari
Default Which motherboard is right for me?

eVGA 133-K8-NF41 nForce-4 SLI Chipset Dual DDR w/7.1 Sound, Gb LAN, S-ATA Raid, USB 2.0, IEEE 1394, Dual PCI-E MB

Gigabyte GA-K8N Pro-SLI nVidia nForce4-SLI Chipset w/7.1 Sound, Gb LAN, S-ATA Raid, USB 2.0, IEEE-1394 Dual PCI-E MB

MSI K8N Neo4-SLI nForce4-SLI Chipset w/7.1 Sound, Gb LAN, S-ATA Raid, USB 2.0 PCI-E Motherboard

MSI K8N Neo4-F nForce4 Chipset w/7.1 Sound, Gb LAN, S-ATA Raid, USB 2.0 PCI-E Motherboard

MSI K8N Neo4 Platinum nForce4 Ultra Chipset w/7.1 Sound, Dual Gb LAN, S-ATA Raid, USB 2.0, IEEE 1394 PCI-E MB

I'm going to be using an Athlon 64 X2 3800+ with 2 gigs of ram. As for the video card, I'm getting a 6200 (no sli). Are any of these motherboards good?
__________________

nezzari is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 04:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Look into what features you need to utilize. Is the 6200 PCIe? I didn't think they made 'em like that, so maybe you need an AGP board. Look what you need, and then buy accordingly. Ask any questions you have comparing boards, don't let these guys make your mind up.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 04:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 223
Send a message via AIM to nezzari
Default

The card is PC-i Express. Sadly, I really don't have any knowledge about motherboards. I just don't want to end up with a bad one >.<
nezzari is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 05:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

I would get the last one, the MSI K8N Plat nForce4 Ultra
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 09:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 39
Default

For the record, I'm pretty sure I'm going with the

MSI K8N Neo4/SLI

THE BIG QUESTION!

How does it work out changing the BIOS to recognize both cores?

I know it is supposed to be done, and MSI makes it sound like just a little change, but I checked a review from this one guy that said it was really not workin out.

Anyone have experience with MSI mobos and x2 AMDs?

Really lookin for first hand experience but all is good
Hawkk is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 09:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 223
Send a message via AIM to nezzari
Default

I think I'm going to get MSI K8N Neo4 Platinum nForce4 Ultra Chipset w/7.1 Sound, Dual Gb LAN, S-ATA Raid, USB 2.0, IEEE 1394 PCI-E MB.

Although some people have been telling me that Asus would be better for AMD.
nezzari is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 10:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

good choice...asus no better for amd
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-02-2005, 11:59 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 223
Send a message via AIM to nezzari
Default

Is this a good board for overclocking though?
nezzari is offline  
Old 10-02-2005, 12:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

MSI is reasonable with OCing, though if you want super OCing then you should go with DFI
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-02-2005, 12:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 223
Send a message via AIM to nezzari
Default

Thanks PZEROFGH, I think I'm going to use MSI (Don't want to go crazy with OC) lol. Just hope it doesn't have any issues with X2
__________________

nezzari is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.