Motherboard Questions & Help Me Find a Mobo - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-11-2007, 09:26 PM   #31 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Motherboard Questions & Help Me Find a Mobo

Can the DS3R overclock the core 2 duos more then any of the 650i or 680i nforce mobos?
__________________

Gabb is offline  
Old 07-11-2007, 09:58 PM   #32 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 575
Send a message via ICQ to Cunjo Send a message via Yahoo to Cunjo
Default Re: Motherboard Questions & Help Me Find a Mobo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sora View Post
That seems quite high as my E6300 @ 3.6 does that but oh well
That's what it said... I'd post a screenshot, but the network card doesn't arrive until tomorrow afternoon.

I just finished 3DMark06, and scores are as follows:

SM2: 3597
HDR/SM3: 3662
CPU: 2815

The GPU runs really, really hot... I'll post another thread about that.

EDIT:
I don't see why the motherboard should make a big difference in overclock as long as the FSB speed is supported, and this 650i goes way higher than my CPU ever could... ease of overclocking should be mostly a BIOS thing with performance like that, I would think.

EDIT2:
I think the E6300 has a smaller cache than the E6600, which may be part of the reason mine did better in performance:Hz.
__________________

__________________
\"I\'ll do it cheap, I\'ll do it fast, or I\'ll do it well. You can only choose two.\"
Cunjo is offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 12:52 AM   #33 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Motherboard Questions & Help Me Find a Mobo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cunjo View Post
That's what it said... I'd post a screenshot, but the network card doesn't arrive until tomorrow afternoon.

I just finished 3DMark06, and scores are as follows:

SM2: 3597
HDR/SM3: 3662
CPU: 2815

The GPU runs really, really hot... I'll post another thread about that.

EDIT:
I don't see why the motherboard should make a big difference in overclock as long as the FSB speed is supported, and this 650i goes way higher than my CPU ever could... ease of overclocking should be mostly a BIOS thing with performance like that, I would think.

EDIT2:
I think the E6300 has a smaller cache than the E6600, which may be part of the reason mine did better in performance:Hz.
yep thats correct the e6300 has less cache than the e6600, but the e6320 and e6420 has equal cache as teh e6600
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 11:48 PM   #34 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Motherboard Questions & Help Me Find a Mobo

can anyone answer my DSR3 question please?
Gabb is offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 11:55 PM   #35 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 218
Default Re: Motherboard Questions & Help Me Find a Mobo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabb View Post
Can the DS3R overclock the core 2 duos more then any of the 650i or 680i nforce mobos?
yes....i think sora OC'd his e6300(dont remember-just guessing) to 3.6 ghz
ollithemagicbum is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 12:05 AM   #36 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Motherboard Questions & Help Me Find a Mobo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabb View Post
Can the DS3R overclock the core 2 duos more then any of the 650i or 680i nforce mobos?
Yes they overclock higher and also EASIER. I have my E6300@ 3.64ghz which I have never heard of a P5N-E or 680i doing with with an E6300. This thing reaches 520 FSB stable...
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 12:46 AM   #37 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: Motherboard Questions & Help Me Find a Mobo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cunjo View Post
EDIT:
I don't see why the motherboard should make a big difference in overclock as long as the FSB speed is supported, and this 650i goes way higher than my CPU ever could... ease of overclocking should be mostly a BIOS thing with performance like that, I would think.
The motherboard has alot to do with the overclock. The DS3R is a very stable motherboard, and will hold higher clocks more stable than most motherboards.

I have got my Q6600 to boot up at 3.6Ghz on stock cooling and stock voltage(didnt leave it for long though...bit too hot). I dont know the in's and out's of motherboard circuitry, so i cant say why, but good overclocking is more than just higher FSBs.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 01:24 AM   #38 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Motherboard Questions & Help Me Find a Mobo

Quote:
Originally Posted by meat_helmet View Post
The motherboard has alot to do with the overclock. The DS3R is a very stable motherboard, and will hold higher clocks more stable than most motherboards.

I have got my Q6600 to boot up at 3.6Ghz on stock cooling and stock voltage(didnt leave it for long though...bit too hot). I dont know the in's and out's of motherboard circuitry, so i cant say why, but good overclocking is more than just higher FSBs.
ya i guess the FSB limit has been pushed a bit more than the 965p, and intel got the extra juice out of their own chips, whomelse would know the most about intel chips? the ppl of intel
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
motherboard wont fit the case siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 20 06-22-2007 03:33 PM
static and my mobo funkywaggnelz New Systems | Building and Buying 10 06-12-2007 03:03 PM
Which motherboard? pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 9 06-02-2007 11:00 AM
cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-30-2007 06:05 PM
Suggestions about a motherboard...please siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 04-25-2007 12:22 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.