Motherboard question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-16-2009, 03:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Motherboard question

I've got a custom built computer, but my brother really did most of it and he no longer lives with me. So, I have decided I need an upgrade, and I need to do it by myself.

What I want to do is upgrade somewhat slowly, keep my existing ram, hdd, and psu, and possibly gpu until I get more money.

So what I'm looking at would be a motherboard and cpu. Let's say I were to keep my existing hdd, and I just got a new cpu and motherboard, is it as simple as just hooking it up and it will run? Or do I need to do something with windows and all that and lose everything on my hdd?

I don't have windows, my brother had used his when he put in on my computer, and that'd be a whole 'nother expense that I don't want to pay for. SO i guess what I'm saying is please explain to me how this process would work with an existing HDD already in place.
__________________

Thresh25 is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 06:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: Motherboard question

Ok, well that puts you in a bit of a tight spot. I would never normally recommend anything short of a full reformat and reinstall of windows, drivers etc. Changing the motherboard is a big deal and if not done like this can cause alot of driver conflicts and system problems.

Now, i said i would never normally recommend anything else, and i still dont. However, it doesnt seem like your able to do this so there are a couple of other options.

1. Using a windows 'repair' has worked for people in the past, however, this doesnt mean their system was as stable as it should have been, nor does it mean it will work for you. You will need the windows disc for this.

2. Using Norton Ghost apparently works. I have never tryed it, but i have heard it is possible so maybe take a bit more of a look into it.

Good luck - remember to back up everything.
__________________

__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 06:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default

Hmm... not sure really what either of those two things are. I'm not completely computer savvy. But in other words you are basically saying there's no way I'd be able to just hook up my existing HDD and start it up with a new mobo?

Bah.. if that's the case that means I'm going to lose all of my old stuff... AND pay more money for windows. ahh technology....

bump... sorry no response sort of an important issue for me.
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 02-17-2009, 02:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Motherboard question

Please dont double post.

Not much you can do, if you dont have the windows cd.

I suggest you just upgrade the gpu, as that will give you the most performance increase.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 02-17-2009, 02:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 555
Default Re: Motherboard question

Iam a little confused myself.. you want to upgrade.. but only small parts? how far are you going?


Reason is.. if you get a new motherboard.. and cpu... you'd have to make it able to use the RAM you had before- which means that RAM won't really be upgraded anytime even with that new motherboard. If the new motherboard Does Not support that Ram.. you'd have to buy new Ram to fit.


My computer is.. like.. 7+ years old, and dying. I am basically buying a whole new computer, piece by piece paycheck by paycheck. I can't use my "new" computer yet, because I don't have all the functioning parts (mobo/cpu/ram being key elements for the new motherboard)

So really, you needa find out exactly what you got inside there, and how much your really going to have to do to upgrade what you got, if its small upgrade like new Harddrive or major system upgrade, like I have to do.

AND with the 'just upgrade your GPU' thing, you'll need to make sure you buy the right one, if you've got a PCI slot or AGP.
Gothch1ck is offline  
Old 02-17-2009, 03:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: Motherboard question

All right thanks. Say I do purchase a windows cd, is there any way I can still use the existing hdd on my new machine? and is it easy to do?

To gothch1ck, I am not that big of a noob lol. My ram is pc 6400 ddr2, which i'd say is decently fast still in today's standards. my gpu is pci-e, I didn't even think they really made pci or agp cards anymore. what I want to do is get a new mobo, supports intel core 2 duo and quad core, then get a new cpu whether it be a quad or duo, and then until I can afford more upgrades, use my existing parts.
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 02-17-2009, 08:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Motherboard question

how much are you planning on spending?
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 02-17-2009, 08:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: Motherboard question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thresh25 View Post
All right thanks. Say I do purchase a windows cd, is there any way I can still use the existing hdd on my new machine? and is it easy to do?
Yes, but you would have to transfer all the files you want to keep to some external source, eg. another HDD, Flash drives, DVD etc. Then you would format the HDD (to be clear this means you will lose anything left on there)and install windows, drivers, programs and then transfer your files back on.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 02-18-2009, 12:03 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: Motherboard question

Bahhh.. not what I wanted to hear. lol. I wanted to spend a little at a time (I'm bad at saving). For example, get the case, mobo, and processor, and then use my existing parts until I gradually get enough money for full upgrades.

My psu is okay I think, Ultra x-finity 500 watt, my hdd is a sata hdd not sure specs, and my ram is ddr2 pc6400. All that stuff I THINK is still pretty good by today's standards. So not sure how much I'd really need to spend, I could hold off a little while on this gpu as well I believe.
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 02-18-2009, 11:54 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Motherboard question

If you use this system for gaming, upgrading the gpu will give you the most performance compared to anything else.

And you can get a quality psu for $50.

A faster cpu wont do anything for gaming, not with an 8600GT anyways.
__________________

__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rebate question and Motherboard question. Ric0h New Systems | Building and Buying 5 09-12-2008 12:06 AM
Asus P5Q3 Deluxe/WiFi-AP @n Motherboard, Memory compatibility question; glad123gladglad New Systems | Building and Buying 1 08-30-2008 06:46 AM
Windows XP and MSI Motherboard compatibility question grkbar Microsoft Windows and Software 4 11-02-2007 10:58 PM
Upgrading Motherboard and processor. HDD switch question BonKerz New Systems | Building and Buying 25 06-28-2007 01:16 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.