motherboard question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-31-2007, 09:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default motherboard question

I have this motherboard.

MSI K8N SLI-F Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 SLI ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail, SKU: MSIK8NSLIFS939

I am not sure but just wondering if I could put an amd athlon 64 X2 4200+ socket 939 on that motherboard.

Oh and would I notice a big difference from an amd athlon 64 3500+?
__________________

Norcent is offline  
Old 08-31-2007, 09:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Web Programmer
 
murdocsvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 896
Default Re: motherboard question

if you just read what the link you sent says its says its supports athlon. as long as it supports the make of processor and the socket type, its all good to go.
__________________

__________________
PHP + MYSQL, ASP.Net + C# with SQL, WCF, Python, XHTML + CSS, HTML5, JavaScript, jQuery, Flash + ActionScript 3, XML, SVG.

Web Developer Portfolio
murdocsvan is offline  
Old 08-31-2007, 10:35 AM   #3 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: motherboard question

nope stick with the 4200+
its better than the 3500+
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 08-31-2007, 12:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: motherboard question

no this is computer 1 in my sig. I want the 4200+ I would never downgrade dude.
Norcent is offline  
Old 08-31-2007, 01:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: motherboard question

Is the socket 939 amd athlon 64 x2 4200+ better a lot better then the 3500+?
Norcent is offline  
Old 08-31-2007, 02:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: motherboard question

just remember that socket x2 and socket 939 are not the same. A lot of people have thought that they are the same but they are not which is really misleading.
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 08-31-2007, 02:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: motherboard question

what is socket x2? I never heard of such a socket for a motherboard or cpu.
Norcent is offline  
Old 08-31-2007, 02:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: motherboard question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
what is socket x2? I never heard of such a socket for a motherboard or cpu.
Oh i meant am2 haha and 939 lolz
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 08-31-2007, 03:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: motherboard question

oh well duh. people are stupid if they think that they can put a socket am2 chip in a socket 939 motherboard. You have to match up the cpu and motherboard sockets for a reason. Even if a different socket would fit it would probably overheat or something.
__________________

Norcent is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motherboard Questions & Help Me Find a Mobo Cunjo New Systems | Building and Buying 37 07-13-2007 01:24 AM
Upgrading Motherboard and processor. HDD switch question BonKerz New Systems | Building and Buying 25 06-28-2007 01:16 AM
Upgrading motherboard, processor and RAM Uberg New Systems | Building and Buying 14 06-03-2007 07:03 PM
it wasnt the motherboard!!!!! pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 06-03-2007 01:02 AM
Which motherboard? pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 9 06-02-2007 11:00 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.