Motherboard Q: - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-24-2006, 08:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2
Default Motherboard Q:

quick question do i have to re-install every thing when changing out the motherboard when keeping everything else .. i cant remember last time i did it, too long ago :P
__________________

TheMonk is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 08:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

If its 2000/XP you need to do a repair install.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 02:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

well when i did that i diddnt have to do anything to it
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 03:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

Here's a link to a great article that outlines everything you need to do:
http://www.extremetech.com/article2/...1910093,00.asp
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 03:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks all, turns out were just getting a new system
TheMonk is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 03:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Lol, that sucks. I could take my harddrives out and stick them in pretty much any computer with an nVidia video card and it will work perfectly.
__________________

The General is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.