Motherboard for OCing the e8400 - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-22-2008, 08:56 PM   #21 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Motherboard for OCing the e8400

I think I probably will. Sounds like a good plan to me. I am gonna order it soon. I think I am gonna wait until the price of the e8400 drops a little. And I am getting a credit card soon(16 yrs old) so I am gonna wait for that too. In a few weeks (and if the price doesnt drop, oh well )
__________________

__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 01-22-2008, 09:39 PM   #22 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Motherboard for OCing the e8400

lol im turning 18 in a few weeks.
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 01-22-2008, 09:45 PM   #23 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Motherboard for OCing the e8400

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amd gt player View Post
lol im turning 18 in a few weeks.
yeah, I dont even have my license yet. They moved it up. I get it in about 15 days though! haha, I am in my senior year in high school and I dont have my license.. oh well, my computer is better than almost everyone at my school. and will deff be the best when i get my new x38 and my new wolfdale. Which is gonna happen sooner than I thought.
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 01-22-2008, 09:59 PM   #24 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: Motherboard for OCing the e8400

Quote:
Originally Posted by decibaL View Post
nvda boards cant clock as high
says who? i can just as easily overclock my 680i just like any other P35 could..temps are my only limiting factor for right now.
mgcook is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 03:42 PM   #25 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Motherboard for OCing the e8400

the 680i will oc just as high, but it does have fbs walls and it will be more dificult to oc on then a p35 or a x38.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 03:46 PM   #26 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Motherboard for OCing the e8400

you also have to worry about the board burning up on you
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 03:56 PM   #27 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: Motherboard for OCing the e8400

Just wondering...anybody know how well the p35-ds3r would be able to clock it up to? Just wondering, because I've been thinking of upgrading to the e8400, and I would rather not have to get a diff mobo if I didn't need to xD.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 01-23-2008, 04:02 PM   #28 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Motherboard for OCing the e8400

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Just wondering...anybody know how well the p35-ds3r would be able to clock it up to? Just wondering, because I've been thinking of upgrading to the e8400, and I would rather not have to get a diff mobo if I didn't need to xD.
whats wrong with your e6750 @3.53?
going to an 8400 wont make too much diff...unless you wanna get it oc to about 4.5ghz.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 04:05 PM   #29 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: Motherboard for OCing the e8400

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyq View Post
whats wrong with your e6750 @3.53?
going to an 8400 wont make too much diff...unless you wanna get it oc to about 4.5ghz.
That's about the main reason, lol. Like I said, I was just considering getting the e8400, not a definite decision.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 01-23-2008, 04:06 PM   #30 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Motherboard for OCing the e8400

yeah.. and they are totally badass. I saw some guy on another forum, after a day he got to 4.3 on air with his load at like 65. I dont remember the voltages off my head, but I cant wait to work on this cpu.

GET IT MAN
__________________

__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just need help on grabbing a Motherboard Akumajin New Systems | Building and Buying 9 01-08-2008 08:36 AM
Replacing Motherboard, Help Needed Rask Vann New Systems | Building and Buying 9 11-15-2007 09:40 AM
Motherboard Questions & Help Me Find a Mobo Cunjo New Systems | Building and Buying 37 07-13-2007 01:24 AM
Which motherboard? pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 9 06-02-2007 11:00 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.