Motherboard for an Intel E6600 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-18-2006, 12:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 158
Default Motherboard for an Intel E6600

I am going to build a computer for the first time and I am having trouble with choosing the parts for it because I do not know which ones will give me good performance. So far, all I know is I want the Intel E6600, and now I need a motherboard for it. I had a complete AMD system with an ASUS A8N-SLI Premium motherboard, but that is only compatible with AMD CPU's. So can you guys help me out with some motherboards? I need atleast three PCI slots and one PCI Express x16 slot. Thanks

By the way, I probably will be overclocking in the future.
__________________

guitarplyrstevo is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 01:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
darkop16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 553
Send a message via AIM to darkop16
Default

I don't know what your budget is but the asus-vanilla is a good mobo or a asus p5b-deluxe if you can spend more.

Both are good mobos that should give you a good oc if you decide to overclock that e6600 (which i recommend cause its a monster at overclocking even on stock )
__________________

__________________
CPU: e6600 @ 3.2ghz
RAM: 2GB G.Skill HZ PC6400
Mobo: ASUS P5B Deluxe
GPU: Sapphire HD4870
Soundcard: Creative Labs X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
HDDs: 250GB WD + 750GB WD + 2x1TB WD
Monitor: Samsung 226BW
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 600W
Case: Cooler Master Stacker
OS: XP Professional SP3
Mouse/keyboard: Logitech MX518/Saitek Eclipse II
Speakers: Logitech Z-2300
darkop16 is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 01:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 230
Default

If your willing to spend an extra few bucks then I would recommend the EVGA 122-CK-NF68-AR Socket T (LGA 775) NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard

Link: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813188009

But then again you would have to take into consideration which video card you are going to use either ATI or Nvidia, in order to get best performance out of your motherboard ok.
__________________
http://img241.imageshack.us/img241/7...7ah7842gr0.gif
Case: NZXT Apollo BLACK
MB: Asus P5B Deluxe WiFi edition
CPU: E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
GFX: eVGA 7900GS
RAM: CORSAIR XMS2 1GB
HD : Seagate 400 GB HD
PSU: HIPER HPU 580Watt
MurdaX is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 01:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 115
Default

I'm also getting a 6600 and I will go with the 680i mobo
[SF]MKM is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 02:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
darkop16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 553
Send a message via AIM to darkop16
Default

a 680i chipset mobo is only if your going to sli. If you are then do get the 680i, don't get a nforce4 mobo cause their really weren't meant for the conroes.
__________________
CPU: e6600 @ 3.2ghz
RAM: 2GB G.Skill HZ PC6400
Mobo: ASUS P5B Deluxe
GPU: Sapphire HD4870
Soundcard: Creative Labs X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
HDDs: 250GB WD + 750GB WD + 2x1TB WD
Monitor: Samsung 226BW
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 600W
Case: Cooler Master Stacker
OS: XP Professional SP3
Mouse/keyboard: Logitech MX518/Saitek Eclipse II
Speakers: Logitech Z-2300
darkop16 is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 03:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 158
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by darkop16
a 680i chipset mobo is only if your going to sli. If you are then do get the 680i, don't get a nforce4 mobo cause their really weren't meant for the conroes.
Well I already know that I'm only going to be using one graphics card for the computer. I do not really see why I need two.
guitarplyrstevo is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 03:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 158
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MurdaX
If your willing to spend an extra few bucks then I would recommend the EVGA 122-CK-NF68-AR Socket T (LGA 775) NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard

Link: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813188009

But then again you would have to take into consideration which video card you are going to use either ATI or Nvidia, in order to get best performance out of your motherboard ok.
I'm debating on either getting a 256MB nVidia GeForce 7900 GS, or an EVGA GeForce 7900 GT. I do not know which graphics card would be better.
guitarplyrstevo is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 09:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
darkop16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 553
Send a message via AIM to darkop16
Default

I would get a evga 7900gs and then upgrade to a dx10 card latter with the step program. But if you don't want to do that, then the 7900gt is better.
__________________

__________________
CPU: e6600 @ 3.2ghz
RAM: 2GB G.Skill HZ PC6400
Mobo: ASUS P5B Deluxe
GPU: Sapphire HD4870
Soundcard: Creative Labs X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
HDDs: 250GB WD + 750GB WD + 2x1TB WD
Monitor: Samsung 226BW
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 600W
Case: Cooler Master Stacker
OS: XP Professional SP3
Mouse/keyboard: Logitech MX518/Saitek Eclipse II
Speakers: Logitech Z-2300
darkop16 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.