Motherboard Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-26-2005, 06:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 67
Default Motherboard Help

What's a good PCI-E motherboard I can get for $100 or less?
What should I look for in a motherboard?
__________________

__________________
I am the noobzor!

|My System|
MSI K8N Neo4-F Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 ATX AMD Mobo
eVGA 256MB 7800GT
Aspire ATX 520W PSU
Corsair PC 3200 512MB X2
Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM 80GB HD
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ 2.2Ghz
Creative Audigy2 ZS
WOOT!
noobzor is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 07:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

Well if you have 500$ just for a Video card and a mobo get this

EVGA 7800GT
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130256

DFI NForce4 Ultra-D
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136158

add tax and shipping that comes out to around 500$
__________________

MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 07:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

You can save a little on the motherboard and get the non sli Ultra-D model.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 07:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 67
Default

I'll probably go non-SLI because I heard it sorta sucks, plus I have to get the hardware and the OS installed so that's about $100 more....
__________________
I am the noobzor!

|My System|
MSI K8N Neo4-F Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 ATX AMD Mobo
eVGA 256MB 7800GT
Aspire ATX 520W PSU
Corsair PC 3200 512MB X2
Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM 80GB HD
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ 2.2Ghz
Creative Audigy2 ZS
WOOT!
noobzor is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 07:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

MSI K8N NEO4-F best non 2xpcie16 mobo

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130491
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 07:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 67
Default

I checked not too long ago and my RAM says "DR 333," is this a problem?

I'd hate to have to buy the mobo, videocard, more RAM, AND pay to get it installed plus have the OS put on again.
__________________
I am the noobzor!

|My System|
MSI K8N Neo4-F Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 ATX AMD Mobo
eVGA 256MB 7800GT
Aspire ATX 520W PSU
Corsair PC 3200 512MB X2
Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM 80GB HD
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ 2.2Ghz
Creative Audigy2 ZS
WOOT!
noobzor is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 08:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

that would be PC2700 i believe and that means if your mobo supports PC3200 your ram will be below speeds, meaning it will be slower.
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 08:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

i thought you said you had 500$ and why would you need to pay to get it installed? unless your a computer noobie
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 08:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 67
Default

Don't talk about computer noobs because on another forum you posted that you were new to computers.

I need to pay to get it installed because I don't have my windows disc (you have to reinstall the OS with a new mobo) and I haven't installed a mobo before so I have to take it in to get it installed.
__________________
I am the noobzor!

|My System|
MSI K8N Neo4-F Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 ATX AMD Mobo
eVGA 256MB 7800GT
Aspire ATX 520W PSU
Corsair PC 3200 512MB X2
Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM 80GB HD
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ 2.2Ghz
Creative Audigy2 ZS
WOOT!
noobzor is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 09:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

yeah im new to computers that dosent mean im a computer noob. my unlce has been building computers ever scince you could and hes taught me every thing i need to know about building my own. i just dont know what the best parts for the price are.
__________________

MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.