Is this motherboard good enough for Phenom II ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-11-2009, 03:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 678
Default Is this motherboard good enough for Phenom II ?

Newegg.com - BIOSTAR MCP6P M2+ 6.X AM3/AM2+/AM2 NVIDIA GeForce 6150 / nForce 430 Micro ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards


I plan on using a GTX 260 and ddr2 ram with this thing.
oh and this processor
Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X4 945 Deneb 3.0GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 95W Quad-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops


I NEVER plan on overclocking, its going to be used for a gaming PC.

Is this doable?
__________________

andrewsvalesen is offline  
Old 10-11-2009, 03:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: Is this motherboard good enough for P2 ?

Yes, that should work. Though for a second I thought you meant Pentium II :P Anyway you might want to get a full ATX board instead of an mATX, that way you get more slots and such.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 10-11-2009, 04:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Is this motherboard good enough for P2 ?

That board only supports cp's with a 95w TDP or less so the 945 wouldn't work.

Since the GTX 260 is a pretty large card it would probably be best to get a full size ATX board for the reasons Yamikotai listed as well as to avoid any clearance issues.

Newegg.com - BIOSTAR TA790XE AM2+/AM3 AMD 790X ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 10-13-2009, 03:05 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Los Angeles (818)
Posts: 16
Default Re: Is this motherboard good enough for P2 ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yamikotai View Post
Yes, that should work. Though for a second I thought you meant Pentium II :P Anyway you might want to get a full ATX board instead of an mATX, that way you get more slots and such.
Lol, I too thought he ment Pentium II!
xquizit is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What To Look For When Buying Computer Components Luke Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 25 01-07-2009 09:09 PM
A good Gigabyte motherboard? Vandrad New Systems | Building and Buying 4 07-17-2008 11:36 AM
Monster cable vs coathangers superdave1984 Computer Audio and Multimedia 58 03-10-2008 03:31 AM
Long Beeps at start up freak67 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 12-06-2007 06:08 PM
Good Motherboard murdocsvan New Systems | Building and Buying 14 09-04-2007 04:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.