Motherboard Fried? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-23-2005, 12:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 26
Default Motherboard Fried?

WELL MY BROTHER PUT MY PC TOGETHER AND I THINK THE MOTHER BOARD IS FRIED. HE SAID HE HEARD A "POP" TYPE SOUND WHEN HE TURNED THE PC ON AND THE MOTHERBOARD DID NOT TURN ON. ALL THE FANS EXCEPT THE CPU FAN TURNED ON AND 1 OF THE CD ROMS HAD POWER AND THE DISK DRIVE. NO SIGNS OF ANYTHING COMING FROM THE HARD DRIVE. I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT IT IS AND I HOPE ITS NOT THE MOBO AND PROCESSOR CUZ I SPEND 550 ON THAT ****. CAN U GUYS GIVE ME UR BEST IDEAS ON WAT IT IS?
__________________

GGUUSS is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 12:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 373
Default

Well first look on your keyboard in the upper right hand corner. There should be 3 led's. When you type make sure that the middle one is not lit. Second posting your system specs would help.
__________________

__________________
AMD 3800+ X2
Zalman CNPS7000B CPU Heatsink/Fan
ASUS A8N Premium
2 GB G. Skill DDR 400 (2 X 1 GB)
1 GB Ultra DDR 400 (2 X 512 GB)
eVGA 7800GT 256MB
120 GB seagate HD (7200RPM)
80 GB Seagate HD (7200RPM)
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platium ZS Sound Card
Logitec z5300 5.1 THX certified speaker
Medusa 5.1 Headphones
ATI TV turner card
DVD Drive
CD Burner Drive
Razer Copperhead Gaming mouse
Nikkon is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 09:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 26
Default

i havent hooked up the monitor or the keyboard yet. just wanted to see everything power up. my specs are.....

P4 650 3.4ghz
asus premium mobo with intel 955x chipset
1gb corsair 240pin pc 4200 ram
nvidia 6200 256 mb pci-e
2 dvd drives (dvd rom & burner)
floppy disk drive
thermaltake 470watt psu
GGUUSS is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 09:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Time to call asus and RMA their poor quality product.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 09:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 26
Default

LOL ok i just got what you meant about the keyboard. sorry im at work and i gotta use caps on to use the program at work. my bad lol haha
GGUUSS is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 10:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
CECS Major
 
Chase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 387
Send a message via MSN to Chase Send a message via Yahoo to Chase
Default

There is a possibility that your PSU was not strong enough to support your system OR was bad upon arrival. Like others have said, RMA the Mobo and don't sweat it because these things happen. The best thing to not do is start ripping your computer apart and turning it off and on. First, borrow someone else's PSU and try it in the computer. If that dosn't help then you know somthing is fried (probably your motherboard). Does the computer beep (continuously) upon booting? If so you could have your RAM in incorrectly, be sure to check that. If all of the above do not help, RMA the Mobo and get a new one.

::-Chase-::
Chase is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 11:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 26
Default

well i actually unplugged all the fans and anything extra. on my asus book it did say that i need a minimum of 400w so i bought a 470w psu. well anyway, i left everything unplugged except the mobo and i still got nothing.
GGUUSS is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 04:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
CECS Major
 
Chase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 387
Send a message via MSN to Chase Send a message via Yahoo to Chase
Default

My thermaltake 430w just kicked the bucket a few days ago and I did the same thing you did to see if it helped and it didn't. You may have a bad power supply so try to find another to test it with or RMA it for another one. What do you have to lose?

::-Chase-::
Chase is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 06:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 26
Default

does thermaltake make bad psu's?? my friend has a spare antec 350watt psu that ill try testing.
GGUUSS is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 06:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 26
Default

considering i am a newbie at computer hardware and understanding how things work together what does RMA stand for?
__________________

GGUUSS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.