Motherboard Flaps - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2006, 03:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 238
Default Motherboard Flaps

Hi,

On the thing you attach to the case so the ports in the back match in the case there are these flaps. If you know what I am talking about, am I supposed to break these off or what? And how do I do that?

Thanks.
__________________

xtpacygax is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 03:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Post a picture, I have no idea what you're talking about.
__________________

The General is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 03:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 238
Default

I don't have a camera, but you know the thing that comes with the motherboard, which lets the ports in back fit perfectly in the case. You first take out the "default" one in the case and put the one that came with the motherboard in.
xtpacygax is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 03:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

yes.. you have to rip it off the case and mount on the one that came on the mobo
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 04:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

This thing?



The tabs on this thing can go to.
The General is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 06:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to Tox1cThreat
Default

Hes talking about the I/O Shield.. (or I/O Bracket.. whatever)


IT depends. match up the shield to the I/O ports on the motherboard. see which ones eed to be open (to let the ports through0 and which ones dont have anything going to them (none of the connectors from teh mobo shoudl be covered)

Be carefull though.. those things are SHARP I have two scars from them, over a year ago I had to get the stitches....
__________________
<center></center>
Tox1cThreat is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 07:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 238
Default

Thanks, I got it to fit.
xtpacygax is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 07:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to Tox1cThreat
Default

Good deal, no problem.
__________________

__________________
<center></center>
Tox1cThreat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.