motherboard and cpu - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-08-2010, 11:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: grimsby, ontario
Posts: 13
Send a message via MSN to stealthfast
Default motherboard and cpu

ok so... my computer was fried the other month. I am now currently looking to replace the motherboard and cpu. my last system was an asus M2N32-SLI deluxe wieless edition with a amd dual core i believe, with a geforce 9800. it was a good little computer ran all my games great. im a retired wow player. i stick to games like oblivion, the sims 3, age of empires 3 and games like those. i was thinking of buying an Asus M4N78 PRO Motherboard & AMD Phenom X4 9850 Quad Core Processor bundle. uhhhh any advice is it good for what i want or should i buy something else? its $263 Canadian so im sticking in that price range please let me know what you think. thank you for your help!
__________________

stealthfast is offline  
Old 04-09-2010, 08:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: motherboard and cpu

no, wouldn't really be smart to buy one of the old phenom cpus.

a bundle like this one would be better and costs less
http://ncix.com/products/?sku=51510&...anufacture=AMD
__________________

Muffin Man is offline  
Old 04-09-2010, 09:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
InsaneJester17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Rhode Island, USA
Posts: 103
Send a message via AIM to InsaneJester17
Default Re: motherboard and cpu

Muffin Man made a great suggestion but if you go that route you will also need to get DDR3 ram.
__________________
OPTIMUS PRIME
AMD Phenom II x4 955 BE OC'd 3.6ghz - 4GB G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3 1600
30GB OCZ Vertex SSD - 500GB WD Green - Antec Earthwatts 650w PSU
ATI Radeon 4650 - ASRock M3A770DE Mobo - Chieftec Dragon DX-01 Case
InsaneJester17 is offline  
Old 04-09-2010, 12:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: grimsby, ontario
Posts: 13
Send a message via MSN to stealthfast
Default Re: motherboard and cpu

ya i currently have 4gigs ddr2 ram. it helps knowing what i am aiming for. i can stick a computer together no problem. its the specs that confuse me and whats better and whats worse.
stealthfast is offline  
Old 04-09-2010, 01:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: grimsby, ontario
Posts: 13
Send a message via MSN to stealthfast
Default Re: motherboard and cpu

ok so i have done some snoopin round based on your link how about a (going to copy and paste here) Buy the AMD Phenom II X4 945 Quad Core Processor at TigerDirect.ca <--- AMD HDX945WFGIBOX Phenom II X4 945 Quad Core Processor - 3.00GHz, 6MB Cache, 2000MHz (4000 MT/s) FSB, Retail, Socket AM3. as for a motherboard Buy the ASUS M4A78L-M Motherboard at TigerDirect.ca ASUS M4A78L-M Motherboard - AMD 760G, Socket AM3, DDR2, USB, RAID, LAN, Micro ATX ???????????
stealthfast is offline  
Old 04-09-2010, 03:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: motherboard and cpu

oh i see, you need an am2/am2+ mobo. ok.

i really don't know why parts from tigerdirect so much but you could get this cpu
pii x4 955 be

and this mobo
asus m4a77d

both of which would be better and in total would cost less than the parts you linked.
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 04-09-2010, 06:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: grimsby, ontario
Posts: 13
Send a message via MSN to stealthfast
Default Re: motherboard and cpu

ok nvm was gonna say can i even use am am3 on that board. now that i looked at what it supports i see am3 in there. ok and this combo will be suitable for gaming?
stealthfast is offline  
Old 04-09-2010, 08:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: motherboard and cpu

which parts are you referring to?

and yes, am2/am2+ mobos can support am3 cpus, but not vice versa.

if you want a specific list of supported cpus for a specific mobo you should be able to find it on the manufacturer's spec page for that specific mobo.
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 04-10-2010, 12:39 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: grimsby, ontario
Posts: 13
Send a message via MSN to stealthfast
Default Re: motherboard and cpu

oh i was just reffering to the cpu compatibility. but i checked the supported parts and everything from my old computer is compatible with the board. thank you for your help and fo the new cheaper site tiger direct is like a 30 minute drive from my house thats why i order from them. again thank you now i got it all planned and i can get my games going again
stealthfast is offline  
Old 04-10-2010, 09:51 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
Default Re: motherboard and cpu

hey, i was wondering if anyone on the forum could help me find a motherboard for my Intel Pentium D 945 CPU..... it is an LGA 775 but the cpu runs on a higher voltage than usual because of the way it was built. the current board that i have for it is the 'foxconn RC4107MA'

i would greatly appreciate it if someone could find a board for me as Intel doesn't make cpu's this great anymore and i really want to hang onto the CPU!
__________________

qubit64 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gaming Computer (budget) Greenbow New Systems | Building and Buying 6 06-06-2009 03:14 PM
What To Look For When Buying Computer Components Luke Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 25 01-07-2009 09:09 PM
Faulty motherboard or CPU! Plz Help! electricsashimi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 03-19-2008 09:59 PM
Long Beeps at start up freak67 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 12-06-2007 06:08 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.