motherboard compatibility - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-26-2006, 10:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 132
Default motherboard compatibility

could a motherboard with a radeon cross fire chipset (like this http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136165 ) function with an Evga Geforce graphics processor? and will 2 of these ATI cards http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814195002 fit in that motherboard?
__________________

MaximusNukeage is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 10:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

why would you wanna mix?? pcik one or the other ......
__________________

__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 11:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Yes, you can stick a nvidia card in a ATI motherboard. And yes you can stick two of the X1900's in there if you are dumb enough to/have too much money (SLI/Crossfire is a wastye of moneyprice:Performance wise.)

Stick with the Nvidia chipsets though, as they are the best I have used.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 02:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 132
Default

i can stick an nvida card in there and it will function perfectly?
MaximusNukeage is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 02:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Yes, just like you can stick an ATI card in a nvidia board.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 03:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 132
Default

groovy
MaximusNukeage is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 11:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 132
Default

I'll let you guys know the reason I'm asking. I have a 2.3482 year old Alienware with me at college and an awesome new gaming rig a made myself a few months back. The Alienware is not so cool any more so I plan on ripping out the motherboard, CPU and GPU and replacing them with an amd 3500 and the parts I posted earlier a mother board with a cross fire xpress northbridge, and an EVGA geforce 7800 gt because I'm on a budget. and in the future buying a new x1900 for the alienware and moving the geforce to my other computer and using SLI. but i don't know wether or not that new ATX motherboard will fit in my old alienware case. any sugjestions or comments?
MaximusNukeage is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 11:50 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 79
Send a message via AIM to jhick40
Default

your money would be better spent on one very good graphics card, rather than two in sli/crossfire configuration.
__________________
Intel Pentium 4 2.8ghz | Hewlett-Packard 085Ch (D530 SFF)
1024mb DDR400 | eVGA FX5500 128mb @ 300/495
Western Digital Caviar 40gb| 8x CD-RW | SB Audigy SE
jhick40 is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 02:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 280
Default

Agreed
__________________
I wish I had my Computer...:(
Unknown Envy is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 03:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 132
Default

how do i tell if my computer case is ATX compatible?
__________________

MaximusNukeage is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.