motherboard - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-19-2006, 08:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 102
Default motherboard

hey, I'm planning on purchasing a new mobo, what's up with the Socket, what does it stand for, what's the difference?
__________________

ville_valo is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 08:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

The socket pertains to the CPU. It's what the CPU is placed into on the motherboard. All CPUs fit in a certain socket. For example, the newer AMD Athlon 64's go in a socket 939. So, if you have an Athlon 64, you will want a socket 939 motherboard. The newer Intel P4's go in a socket LGA775 (Socket T).

Hope that helps.
__________________

__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 08:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 102
Default

so if my current processor is in a mobo with a 478 socket, i need to get a new one with the same socket number, right? (or tell me what do you guys need to know to see which MoBo would be better?)
ville_valo is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 09:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
so if my current processor is in a mobo with a 478 socket, i need to get a new one with the same socket number, right?
That is correct.
eklypze is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.