Which motherboard?! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-14-2006, 04:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 68
Exclamation Which motherboard?!

Hey all

I need to get a motheroboard that will support my E6600 and 2gig of DDR2 800
I was thinking either of getting the

ASUS P5W DH DELUXE
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131025

or the

Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128323

I just need to know from you guys which is the better motherboard?

I'm also open to any suggestions for other high end mobos

Thanks in advance.
__________________

Curry Viking is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 04:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

Asus!

Yah, for that chipset, I would go with Asus.
__________________

__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 08:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

I see most people get the ASUS for the Conroe.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 10:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 90
Default

i got the gigbyte one. havent used it yet... still waitin for my e6600 from buy.com.
ren0nie0 is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 11:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to Tox1cThreat
Default

I would get the Gigabyte board, if you decide to upgrade later, than it will work with quad core (Kentsfield). However currently the Asus overclocks better, but not by that much.
__________________
<center></center>
Tox1cThreat is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 12:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 50
Default

I also need a Conroe motherboard, but how come that Asus one is Crossfire instead of SLI?

Is there an SLI equivalent to that ASUS P5W DH DELUXE
one?

If not - how come?
__________________

Navaros is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.