The most insane build ever planning ... - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-09-2006, 02:27 AM   #41 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

That'll be pretty **** expensive. I think he should stick to SATA. PCI SCSI RAID cards are still expensive, and they are really slow. I think you would need at least PCI-e x8 to have good performance with SCSI, but I could possibly be wrong.
__________________

__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 07-09-2006, 02:38 AM   #42 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

bah to **** with all of you Im stuck on my 1024 x 768 monitor
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 07-09-2006, 03:29 AM   #43 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
sailpog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 498
Default

put two massive 30" apple monitors together .. not sure how but they had done it in the apple store in london
__________________
<A HREF="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banner.asp?friend=43585">
<IMG SRC="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banners/60x120.gif" BORDER="0">
</A>
sailpog is offline  
Old 07-09-2006, 04:03 PM   #44 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default

most modern motherboards support some kind of RAID.
i dont think that many can suport RAID 5 and certainly not as SCSI so yeah it would have to be a add in card but that shouldnt matter with an infinate budget right .
and as for the 30" monitors, that will just be a dual monitor set up
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 07-09-2006, 08:17 PM   #45 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sailpog
put two massive 30" apple monitors together .. not sure how but they had done it in the apple store in london
Yeah, that would be $5000. Kind of over budget.
The General is offline  
Old 07-09-2006, 10:30 PM   #46 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KMOTE
most modern motherboards support some kind of RAID.
i dont think that many can suport RAID 5 and certainly not as SCSI so yeah it would have to be a add in card but that shouldnt matter with an infinate budget right .
and as for the 30" monitors, that will just be a dual monitor set up
$5000 isn't an infinite budget.
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 03:02 AM   #47 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

hrmm... i don't see why everyone is talking about scsi.... why does he really need it? a raptor would do just fine.. with all the extra money he'd have to spend on scsi he could be buying other things... like maybe the new x-fi with 256 mb ram O_O ... not thats crazy.... and whats with the massive psu's?? i think a 750 fortron source would do just dandy.. don't need no 1 kw... i saw you just get a 250 gb raptor, use that for games,and a regular 250 gb hdd for music and such.... there is no need for scsi, he does not in any way need to access any file that fast by any means... lemme put down what i think...

Conroe e6600
2 gigs of ddr2 1000.... or whatever speed it was
2 geforce 8's (if that)
750 watt fortron source psu
x-fi fatality? or something like that.. with the 256 mb ram
logitech z5500
250 gb raptor
250 or 750 gb hdd with 16 mb cache
hd-dvd drive (whenever those come out)

i think that should do just fine.. and you shoudnt need to get much more than that for a gamers use...
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 08:24 AM   #48 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

thank u Nos, i thought everyone was going crazy.....why does he neeed all this stuff. just to add on to Nos' build, i'd add the Logitech G5, the Saitek Eclipse of Logitech G15, and Thermaltake Black Kandalf and as for the monitor

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16889102056
john3 is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 12:48 PM   #49 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NosBoost300
hrmm... i don't see why everyone is talking about scsi.... why does he really need it? a raptor would do just fine.. with all the extra money he'd have to spend on scsi he could be buying other things... like maybe the new x-fi with 256 mb ram O_O ... not thats crazy.... and whats with the massive psu's?? i think a 750 fortron source would do just dandy.. don't need no 1 kw... i saw you just get a 250 gb raptor, use that for games,and a regular 250 gb hdd for music and such.... there is no need for scsi, he does not in any way need to access any file that fast by any means... lemme put down what i think...

Conroe e6600
2 gigs of ddr2 1000.... or whatever speed it was
2 geforce 8's (if that)
750 watt fortron source psu
x-fi fatality? or something like that.. with the 256 mb ram
logitech z5500
250 gb raptor
250 or 750 gb hdd with 16 mb cache
hd-dvd drive (whenever those come out)

i think that should do just fine.. and you shoudnt need to get much more than that for a gamers use...
agreed with most of that. If you have about $500 or so left after the monitor, I would get a good custom WC system to OC the e6600 in there.
Spartan is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 02:10 PM   #50 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NosBoost300
hrmm... i don't see why everyone is talking about scsi.... why does he really need it? a raptor would do just fine.. with all the extra money he'd have to spend on scsi he could be buying other things... like maybe the new x-fi with 256 mb ram O_O ... not thats crazy.... and whats with the massive psu's?? i think a 750 fortron source would do just dandy.. don't need no 1 kw... i saw you just get a 250 gb raptor, use that for games,and a regular 250 gb hdd for music and such.... there is no need for scsi, he does not in any way need to access any file that fast by any means... lemme put down what i think...

Conroe e6600
2 gigs of ddr2 1000.... or whatever speed it was
2 geforce 8's (if that)
750 watt fortron source psu
x-fi fatality? or something like that.. with the 256 mb ram
logitech z5500
150 gb raptor
250 or 750 gb hdd with 16 mb cache
hd-dvd drive (whenever those come out)

i think that should do just fine.. and you shoudnt need to get much more than that for a gamers use...
You meant the 150gb raptor. Wish it was 250gb.

And you won't want to get an HD-DVD drive. Go Blu-Ray! HD-DVD is the inferior product.
__________________

__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.