most efficient way to make a data store farm? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-18-2010, 05:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default most efficient way to make a data store farm?

I've been thinking about making an always-on server for my room mates and I. Theres four of us, each with our own computers and we occasionally watch HD movies on a TV in the living room by streaming them from a computer.
Cumulatively, we have about 3-4 TB between all of our computers. Each encoded movie is about 10 GB, and I would also like to host a library of video games for us to install via the server. (Which as we know
So basically I would like a 8-10 TB local server made up of 1 TB drives with enough SATA ports to double that with 2 TB drives when they become cheaper. I was thinking RAID 5 would be a good choice, since I would think there's a pretty good probability of failure with the number of drives there are.
Any suggestions? The reason I ask is because most motherboards I see only have 4-6 sata ports.. I was looking for a solution that would allow for a ton of headroom if I just wanted to pop in a couple more HDDs every now and then.
__________________

__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 03-18-2010, 06:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: most efficient way to make a data store farm?

For that sort of RAID you wouldn't want to use a motherboard's built-in RAID capabilities, instead you'll want a dedicated RAID card with enough ports for the number of drives you want to use. They cost anywhere from $25 to $1,000; the more ports (and features), the more expensive.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 03-18-2010, 07:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: most efficient way to make a data store farm?

If you wanted a 8TB raid5 array using 1tb drives you would need 12 drives.

In your situation 2tb drives would be better. For a 8tb array you would need 6 drives.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 03-19-2010, 04:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default Re: most efficient way to make a data store farm?

Yeah, I realise that a portion of your total space is dedicated to redundancy :P

Anyway, thanks for the suggestion of a dedicated RAID card. I can't believe I didn't think of that :/
__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple Adds NDA to App Store Rejection Notices KSoD Apple and Mac 6 10-02-2008 10:25 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.